CTN-A logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTN-A Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The application/exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers; these are alternative rates, never added together.
  • Testing-site or proctoring charges are billed separately, and no fixed surcharge is published, so confirm yours before booking.
  • Renewal after five years costs $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers, with documentary evidence subject to audit.
  • Eligibility prerequisites, such as a graduate degree and 42 contact hours, usually cost more than the exam fee itself.

The Core Fee: $325 or $450, Not Both

Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced (CTN-A) is governed by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) and administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). The published application/exam fee depends on one thing: your TCNS membership status.

  • TCNS member: $325
  • Nonmember: $450

A mistake that circulates on third-party career sites is treating these as cumulative, as if a candidate pays $325 plus $450. They are alternative rates. You pay one or the other, plus whatever testing-service charge applies to your delivery method (covered below).

The Membership Math: The nonmember premium is $125. If a TCNS membership costs less than that for your category, joining before you apply can lower your total outlay and also reduce your renewal fee later. Check the current TCNS membership schedule before you decide, since this article does not state a membership price.

Because the fee covers the application and the examination together, there is no separate "application fee" layered on top in the published materials. Always confirm the figure on the current TCNS Advanced Certification page and the application form at the time you apply, since fees can change between publication cycles.

The Variable Line Item: Testing-Service Charges

The CTN-A exam is delivered as a TCNCC-coordinated computer-based test. Candidates sit at approved university or professional testing sites, including centers within the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC), or they use an approved online proctored arrangement. The official guide also references the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS).

The current application makes the candidate responsible for testing-site or service charges. TCNCC publishes no fixed proctoring surcharge, so this is the least predictable part of your budget.

Why Site Fees Vary

  • University testing centers set their own pricing for external proctoring.
  • Some centers charge flat fees; others charge by the hour or by exam length.
  • Online proctored arrangements may carry a different charge than an on-campus seat.
  • Centers may restrict outside-candidate hours, which can affect convenience even when price is similar.
Ask Before You Pay: Contact your intended testing site and ask for the total external-candidate fee for a 100-question, two-hour exam. Get the number in writing or by email so your budget has an actual figure rather than a guess.

The exam itself is 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, with a 70% passing score. For more detail on how that threshold works, see our guide to the CTN-A passing score.

Hidden Costs Inside Eligibility

For most candidates, the exam fee is the smaller expense. The larger costs sit inside the eligibility requirements, which are demanding for an advanced credential. The Advanced Certification page lists:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license (or a legally recognized international equivalent)
  • Master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE/NLNAC in the U.S. or a legally recognized international equivalent)
  • Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment
  • At least a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours
  • 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration within the preceding five years
  • Evidence satisfying three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation

Note the "or" in the education requirement. A candidate needs a three-credit course or 42 contact hours, not both, and the 2,400 hours must fall within the last five years rather than representing five full years of employment. Our CTN-A requirements guide walks through each prerequisite in detail.

Where the Money Goes

  • Cultural-competence coursework: If you lack the three-credit course or 42 contact hours, you must buy one or the other before applying. Contact-hour programs and university course tuition vary widely in price, so shop around.
  • Graduate education: Most candidates already hold a qualifying degree by the time they pursue an advanced credential, but if not, this is by far the largest cost and a multi-year commitment.
  • Documentation: Evidence for the three-of-five criteria may require gathering publications, presentations, project summaries, or supervisor attestations. Cost is mostly time, though printing, notarizing, or records fees may arise.

Key Takeaway

Count your eligibility gap before counting your exam fee. If you already have the degree, the hours, and a qualifying course or 42 contact hours, your real cost is the application fee plus testing-service charges. If any prerequisite is missing, that gap becomes your dominant expense.

Deadlines That Can Cost You Money

Missed timelines convert directly into rescheduling friction and, potentially, additional fees charged by testing sites. TCNCC asks candidates to apply at least five weeks before the intended test date. Candidates requesting documented accommodations should allow six weeks.

Practical cost-protection steps:

  1. Confirm your testing site's cancellation and rescheduling policy before paying for a seat.
  2. Submit your application well ahead of the five-week minimum, especially if your documentation needs assembly.
  3. If you need accommodations, begin the documentation process early; the six-week window is a minimum, not a target.
  4. Verify scheduling windows against our CTN-A exam dates guide.

On exam day, test conditions are closed book with no personal notes, books, or electronic devices. There are no scheduled breaks, and unscheduled breaks consume examination time. These conditions matter for budgeting too: a candidate who rushes and fails because of poor time management faces the expense of a second attempt.

Five-Year Renewal Costs

CTN-A certification is valid for five years. Renewal fees are:

  • TCNS member: $175
  • Nonmember: $300

As with the initial fee, these are alternative rates. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam. Instead, renewal involves an application and documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit. Candidates must maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria. The published requirements include 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years and either three credits or 42 contact hours. No additional generic CEU quota is published.

Budget Across the Whole Cycle: Over one five-year cycle, a member's certification fees total $325 plus $175, or $500, before testing-service charges. A nonmember's total is $450 plus $300, or $750. That is a $250 difference across the cycle, which typically makes membership worthwhile for anyone planning to renew. Confirm membership dues first, since they are not included in these figures.

Because renewal evidence is subject to audit, keep your records organized from day one: practice-hour logs, course certificates, and documentation of your professional criteria. Retaining this evidence costs nothing but prevents a stressful scramble later.

Sample Budget Scenarios

The table below uses only published fees. Testing-service charges and membership dues are shown as variables because no fixed figures are published in the sources reviewed.

Cost ItemTCNS MemberNonmember
Application/exam fee$325$450
Testing-site or proctoring chargeVaries by siteVaries by site
TCNS membership duesCheck current scheduleNot applicable
Cultural-competence course or 42 contact hours (if you lack it)Varies by providerVaries by provider
Renewal fee (every five years)$175$300
Fees across one full cycle (exam + renewal)$500$750

Candidates should treat the "varies" rows as the places where real budget surprises occur. Reducing uncertainty there, by collecting quotes early, is the most effective way to control total cost.

Spending Prep Dollars Where the Points Are

Preparation is the one cost category you control most directly, and the exam's official domain weights tell you where the value lies. The seven domains total 100%, and two of them account for 60% of the exam.

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

The largest domain by far. Prioritize materials that build applied judgment, not just vocabulary.

  • Working with interpreters and translators, and the role of cultural brokering
  • Adapting care plans when patient beliefs conflict with standard protocols
  • Selecting among cultural care preservation, accommodation, and repatterning approaches

Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

The second-largest domain, covering traditional and folk healing, beliefs about illness causation, and care practices across cultural groups.

  • Recognizing how healing traditions interact with biomedical treatment
  • Evaluating when a practice supports, is neutral to, or endangers health

The remaining domains carry less weight but are not skippable: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%), Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%), and three 5% domains covering Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism. For a full breakdown, see our CTN-A exam domains guide.

A Weighted Schedule, Briefly

If you budget study time rather than money, let the weights drive it. Spend roughly the first third of your prep on Domain 4 and Domain 2 together, since they make up 60% of scored content, then move to Foundations and Assessment, and finish with the three smaller domains and full timed practice. Our CTN-A study guide expands this into a complete plan.

Early

Heavy-Weight Domains

  • Domain 4 case-based practice
  • Domain 2 healing-practice review
Middle

Foundations and Assessment

  • Theory and model review
  • Assessment tool application
Late

Small Domains and Timed Practice

  • Evaluation, research, professionalism
  • Full 100-question timed runs

A Caution About Cheap Study Materials

Low-cost or free practice documents are tempting, but verify quality before relying on them. The official exam guide's content outline is marked 1/2011 and its reference list is marked Revision: 2010, even though the guide itself states a January 2022 revision. Materials built on unverified or outdated assumptions can waste the very money you were trying to save. Prefer resources that map questions to the seven official domains and explain their rationales. You can try free questions on our main practice test site before committing to anything paid.

Cost Versus Return: What Can and Cannot Be Claimed

It is natural to ask whether the investment pays back. The honest answer is that no CTN-A-specific salary figure or causal earnings premium has been verified. Career pages that discuss transcultural nursing pay generally rely on general RN or transcultural-nurse pay, which describes nurses broadly rather than CTN-A holders specifically.

That means a fair evaluation should rest on factors you can actually assess:

  • Role fit: Does your position involve teaching, research, consultation, administration, or program leadership in culturally diverse care settings?
  • Credential recognition: Do employers, academic institutions, or consulting clients in your market value this certification?
  • Cost relative to your gap: A candidate with all prerequisites in hand spends far less than one who must add coursework.
  • Membership leverage: TCNS membership lowers both the exam and renewal fees.

For a deeper discussion, read our analysis of whether the CTN-A is worth it and our CTN-A salary guide, which separates general RN pay from anything specific to the credential.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CTN-A exam cost?

The application/exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not additive. Testing-site or proctoring charges are billed separately, and no fixed surcharge is published.

Do I pay both the member and nonmember fee?

No. You pay one rate based on your TCNS membership status. Some third-party sites incorrectly add the two figures together, but the published fees are alternatives.

What does CTN-A renewal cost?

Renewal is $175 for TCNS members or $300 for nonmembers, every five years. The published route involves an application and documentary evidence subject to audit, and does not specify a new exam.

Are there extra fees for online proctoring?

The application makes the candidate responsible for testing-site or service charges, whether you test at an approved site or through an approved online proctored arrangement. No fixed proctoring fee is published, so ask your chosen provider for the exact amount.

Is the CTN-A salary higher than a general RN salary?

No CTN-A-specific salary estimate or causal earnings premium has been verified. Pay figures on career pages generally describe RNs or transcultural nurses broadly, so avoid assuming a guaranteed raise from the credential.

Planning your total cost before you apply keeps surprises to a minimum. Pair this budget with our guides on CTN-A certification cost details, exam difficulty, and pass rate information to decide how much preparation you need and how to invest your time and money wisely.

Ready to pass your CTN-A exam?

Put this into practice with free CTN-A questions across every exam domain.