- The Number: 70% on 100 Questions
- What Is Not Published About Scoring
- Where Your Points Live: Domain Weights
- The Score Is Only Half of Certification
- Test Conditions That Affect Your Score
- Five Original Advanced-Level Practice Questions
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights
- Working With a Dated Blueprint
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CTN-A passing score is 70% on a 100-question multiple-choice exam with up to two hours.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; add Healing Practices at 20% and you hold 60% of the blueprint.
- The exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, not both added together.
- Passing the exam is not enough on its own; eligibility evidence must be retained for a possible portfolio audit.
The Number: 70% on 100 Questions
The Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced (CTN-A) examination, governed by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) and administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS), sets its passing score at 70%. The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions delivered in up to two hours. That is the complete, publicly documented scoring rule in TCNCC's CTN-Advanced Exam Guide.
If you read that as "70 correct answers out of 100," you are making a reasonable inference, but it is worth being careful. The guide states the threshold as a percentage and the exam as 100 questions. It does not publish whether every item is scored, so the safest planning assumption is that you should aim comfortably above 70% on every practice set rather than treating 70 as a number you can hit exactly.
What Is Not Published About Scoring
Many sites fill gaps with confident-sounding numbers. Here is what TCNCC does and does not disclose, so you can recognize invented claims when you see them.
| Scoring Question | What Is Documented |
|---|---|
| Passing score | 70% |
| Number of questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | Up to two hours |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not publicly disclosed |
| Aggregate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Scaled-score conversion | Not described in the exam guide |
| Adaptive testing policy | Not verified |
This matters most for the pass rate. Any page quoting a specific CTN-A pass percentage is either guessing or borrowing from a different credential that shares the acronym. We cover what can and cannot be said responsibly in CTN-A Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
Where Your Points Live: Domain Weights
The seven headings in the exam guide are official weighted domains, and they total 100%. Since the passing line is a flat 70%, the weights tell you where points are won or lost. A candidate who is excellent in the two largest domains is already close to the passing threshold before touching the rest.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice | 15% |
| Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices | 20% |
| Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care | 10% |
| Culturally-Based Nursing Care | 40% |
| Evaluation of Care Outcomes | 5% |
| Research | 5% |
| Professionalism | 5% |
Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
This is the domain that decides most outcomes. At the Advanced level, expect scenario-based items that ask what a nurse leader, educator, or consultant should do, not just what a staff nurse would recognize.
- Working with interpreters versus translators, and the role of cultural brokering
- Adapting care plans when patient and family values diverge from standard protocols
- Choosing among culture care preservation, accommodation, and repatterning decisions
- Designing culturally congruent care across patients, families, and communities
Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
The second-largest domain tests knowledge of how different cultural groups understand illness, caring, and healing, and how those beliefs interact with biomedical care.
- Traditional and folk healing systems and how they intersect with prescribed treatment
- Culturally defined meanings of caring, illness causation, and recovery
- Recognizing when a practice is protective, neutral, or a safety concern, and how to respond respectfully
The three mid-weight and small domains matter too. Foundations (15%) and Assessment (10%) cover theory, models, and the tools used to gather cultural information. Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism are each 5%, small individually, but together they represent 15% of the exam. Our complete walkthrough of the blueprint is in CTN-A Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
The Score Is Only Half of Certification
A passing score does not by itself make you a Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced. Certification requires the examination and eligibility evidence, which you must retain in case of a portfolio audit. Because many candidates focus only on the exam, it helps to know what that evidence covers.
- An active, unrestricted RN license (or a legally recognized international equivalent)
- Qualifying graduate education: a master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent)
- Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment
- At least a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours (one or the other, not both)
- 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years
- Evidence satisfying three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation
Note also that the 2,400 hours must fall within the preceding five years. Some third-party sites misstate this as five full years of experience, which is a different requirement.
Test Conditions That Affect Your Score
The scoring rule is simple, but the conditions under which you earn those points are strict. These details come from the exam guide and the current application.
- Closed book: no personal notes, books, or electronic devices.
- No scheduled breaks: any unscheduled break consumes examination time.
- Delivery: TCNCC-coordinated computer testing through approved university or professional testing sites, including the NCTA/CCTC consortium, or an approved online proctored arrangement. The guide also references the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS).
- Testing-site charges: the applicant is responsible for any testing-site or service charges, and no fixed proctoring surcharge is published.
- Calculator policy: a separate calculator permission was not verified, so confirm directly before test day.
With 100 questions in two hours you have roughly 72 seconds per item on average, and no scheduled breaks to reset. Practicing in two-hour blocks is more useful than practicing in short bursts.
Fees and Timing
The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not additive, and any separately charged testing-service fee is on top. Apply at least five weeks before your intended test date; documented accommodation requests require six weeks. Full pricing context is in CTN-A Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling details are in CTN-A Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Five Original Advanced-Level Practice Questions
These original questions mirror the scenario-driven, leadership-oriented style of the Advanced exam. Try each before reading the rationale. (Our practice question bank at the main practice test site includes many more mapped to every domain.)
Question 1 (Culturally-Based Nursing Care)
A nurse manager notices that a family declines a recommended treatment plan because a family elder must be consulted first, a process that takes two days. The patient is stable and the delay is clinically safe. What is the best action?
- Document the refusal and proceed with an alternative treatment
- Adapt the care schedule to accommodate the family's decision-making process while monitoring the patient
- Ask the family to designate a single spokesperson immediately
- Escalate to the ethics committee for a ruling on family autonomy
Answer: B. When a delay is clinically safe, culture care accommodation honors the family's decision-making structure. Options A and C impose the clinician's process, and D is premature because no ethical conflict has been established.
Question 2 (Assessment of Cultural Information)
Which approach best gathers culturally relevant information from a patient who has limited English proficiency?
- Use a bilingual family member as the interpreter to save time
- Use a qualified medical interpreter and explore the patient's own explanatory model of illness
- Rely on a written translation of the intake form only
- Assume the patient's beliefs from their country of origin
Answer: B. Qualified interpreters protect accuracy and confidentiality, and asking about the patient's explanatory model avoids stereotyping. Option D is a classic assessment error.
Question 3 (Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices)
A patient is using a traditional herbal remedy alongside prescribed medication. What is the most appropriate first step?
- Tell the patient to stop the remedy immediately
- Ignore it because it is not evidence-based
- Ask about the remedy respectfully, learn its ingredients and purpose, and consult pharmacy about interactions
- Report the patient for noncompliance
Answer: C. Inquiry without judgment preserves trust and surfaces safety concerns. Preservation, accommodation, or negotiation follows from what you learn.
Question 4 (Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice)
Which statement best reflects the purpose of a transcultural nursing theoretical model in advanced practice?
- It replaces clinical judgment with fixed cultural rules
- It provides a framework for organizing assessment, planning, and evaluation of culturally congruent care
- It applies only to international health settings
- It is relevant only to nursing education
Answer: B. Models structure thinking; they do not replace judgment, and they apply across settings and roles.
Question 5 (Evaluation of Care Outcomes)
After implementing a culturally tailored diabetes education program, which evaluation approach is strongest?
- Counting how many participants attended
- Measuring clinical outcomes and gathering participants' feedback on cultural fit
- Asking staff whether they liked teaching it
- Comparing to national averages only
Answer: B. Strong evaluation pairs measurable outcomes with the community's own assessment of cultural congruence.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights
You do not need a generic study system; you need an order that respects the blueprint. Because Culturally-Based Nursing Care and Healing Practices together account for 60% of the exam, front-load them. Our CTN-A study guide expands on this approach.
Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
- Preservation, accommodation, and repatterning decisions
- Interpreter, translator, and cultural broker roles
- Scenario questions framed from a leadership perspective
Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
- Folk and traditional healing systems and safety interactions
- Culturally defined meanings of illness and caring
Foundations (15%) and Assessment (10%)
- Theoretical models and their application
- Cultural assessment tools and explanatory-model questioning
Outcomes, Research, Professionalism (15% combined) and full-length timed practice
- Culturally sensitive outcome measures and research ethics with diverse populations
- Two-hour timed sets under closed-book conditions
The one-page version of must-know facts is in our CTN-A cheat sheet.
Working With a Dated Blueprint
One caution deserves its own section. The CTN-Advanced Exam Guide states that its content was last revised in January 2022, while its embedded content outline is marked 1/2011 and its reference list reads Revision: 2010. The guide remains linked from TCNS's current Advanced Certification page, but a March 2026 upload path does not establish a 2026 blueprint revision. In practical terms, expect established transcultural nursing theory and the classic literature to carry more weight than very recent developments. Verify current details with TCNS before you apply.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
CTN-A certification is valid for five years. Renewal runs through an application and documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit. You maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria, including 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years and three credits or 42 contact hours. Renewal fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam, and no additional generic CEU quota is published.
Whether the credential pays off financially is a separate question. Reviewed career pages use general RN or transcultural-nurse pay, and no CTN-A-specific salary premium has been verified. See our salary analysis and ROI discussion for a careful treatment.
Key Takeaway
Treat 70% as the floor, not the goal. Spend the bulk of your preparation on the 40% and 20% domains, practice in closed-book two-hour blocks, and keep your eligibility evidence organized in case of audit.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing score is 70% on a 100-question multiple-choice exam with up to two hours allowed, according to TCNCC's CTN-Advanced Exam Guide.
The aggregate pass rate is not publicly disclosed, and neither is the scored/unscored item split. Be skeptical of any site quoting a specific percentage.
No. The fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, as alternatives. Any testing-service charge is separate and your responsibility.
TCNCC describes two options: approved university or professional testing sites (including NCTA/CCTC) or an approved online proctored arrangement. No specific remote-proctoring vendor was verified, so confirm details when you apply.
No. Certification requires the exam plus eligibility evidence, which you must retain for a possible portfolio audit. Review the full list in our CTN-A requirements guide.