- Identity Snapshot: Who Runs the CTN-A and What It Covers
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The Seven Domains and Their Weights
- Eligibility Math: What You Must Document
- Fees, Deadlines, and Testing Logistics
- High-Yield Content for the 40% and 20% Domains
- The Small Domains: Outcomes, Research, Professionalism
- Three Original Practice Scenarios
- Misconceptions That Circulate Online
- Five-Year Validity and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Review by Domain Weight
- FAQ
- The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, with a 70% passing score.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; add Healing Practices (20%) and you hold 60% of the content.
- The $325 member and $450 nonmember fees are alternatives, not additive; testing-site charges may be billed separately.
- Eligibility requires a graduate-level qualification and 2,400 relevant hours in the preceding five years.
Identity Snapshot: Who Runs the CTN-A and What It Covers
CTN-A here means Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, the advanced-level credential from the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). Other credentials share the same four letters, so make sure any study material, fee figure, or pass-rate claim you rely on actually refers to the transcultural nursing credential. If you are new to the terminology, our explainers on what CTN-A is and what CTN-A stands for cover the basics.
The official guide uses slightly different wording on its cover ("Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced") than in its designation section ("Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced"). Both point to the same credential. The practical takeaway is that this exam is built for graduate-prepared nurses who apply transcultural theory in teaching, research, administration, consultation, or advanced clinical practice, not for entry-level cultural competence.
Exam Format at a Glance
| Item | What the official materials state |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Up to two hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not publicly disclosed |
| Aggregate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Delivery | TCNCC-coordinated computer testing at approved university or professional sites (including NCTA/CCTC), or an approved online proctored arrangement |
| Reference materials | Closed book; no personal notes, books, or electronic devices |
| Breaks | None scheduled; unscheduled breaks consume exam time |
Two items on that list deserve attention. First, no pass rate is published, so any site quoting a specific percentage is guessing. Our CTN-A pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said. Second, the lack of scheduled breaks means a two-hour sitting with no pause, so practice at full length. For a closer look at the passing threshold itself, see CTN-A passing score.
The Seven Domains and Their Weights
The seven domains below are official weighted examination domains and they total 100%. Allocate study time roughly in proportion.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| 1. Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice | 15% |
| 2. Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices | 20% |
| 3. Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care | 10% |
| 4. Culturally-Based Nursing Care | 40% |
| 5. Evaluation of Care Outcomes | 5% |
| 6. Research | 5% |
| 7. Professionalism | 5% |
Domain 4 alone is worth more than Domains 1, 3, 5, 6, and 7 combined would suggest on a casual read. For a deeper walkthrough, see the complete guide to all seven CTN-A content areas.
Eligibility Math: What You Must Document
The Advanced Certification page confirms the following requirements. Check each against your own records before paying anything.
- License: an active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
- Education: a qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, from a program with issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
- Employment: current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
- Cultural coursework: at least one three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours.
- Practice hours: 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years.
- Professional criteria: evidence meeting three of five criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.
Supporting letters appear as examples of evidence, not as a universally required fixed count of references. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. Keep your documentation organized, because eligibility evidence should be retained in case of a portfolio audit. For the full qualification walkthrough, read CTN-A requirements and how to qualify.
A Known Inconsistency in the Application Form
The current online application contains wording that references diploma, associate, and BSN pathways and CTN-B, and its introduction says "all five" additional criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide support graduate education and three of five criteria. This unresolved form inconsistency is not a reason to assume lower Advanced eligibility. If your situation depends on the discrepancy, contact TCNS in writing and keep the reply.
Fees, Deadlines, and Testing Logistics
| Cost or timing item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Application/exam fee (TCNS member) | $325 |
| Application/exam fee (nonmember) | $450 |
| Testing-site or service charges | Applicant's responsibility; no fixed proctoring surcharge published |
| Application lead time | At least five weeks before the intended test date |
| Accommodation requests | Six weeks, with documentation |
| Certification validity | Five years |
The member and nonmember figures are alternative rates. You pay one or the other, not the sum. Budget separately for whatever the testing site or online proctoring service charges. A full cost walkthrough is in CTN-A certification cost, and scheduling mechanics are covered in CTN-A exam dates and deadlines.
Online Versus Test-Center Delivery
The application confirms both options. The guide refers to NCTA/CCTC and also uses the name National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS); no named remote-proctoring vendor was verified, and no Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric contract was confirmed. Do not assume the proctoring rules of those vendors apply. Ask TCNCC which arrangement applies to your session before test day, including what the check-in and room-scan expectations are.
High-Yield Content for the 40% and 20% Domains
Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
This is the application domain. Expect scenario questions where you choose the best nursing action for a culturally specific situation, and where several answers sound respectful but only one fits the situation.
- Culture care preservation or maintenance, accommodation or negotiation, and repatterning or restructuring, and how to tell them apart in a scenario
- Working with professional interpreters versus informal interpreters; translators versus interpreters; family members as interpreters and when that is inappropriate
- Cultural brokering between patient, family, and institutional systems
- Care planning that integrates a patient's health beliefs without compromising safety
- Communication across language, literacy, and health-literacy barriers
Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
This domain tests your knowledge of how different populations understand health, illness, caring, and healing, and how traditional and folk practices interact with biomedical care.
- Health belief systems and explanatory models of illness
- Traditional, folk, and complementary healing practices and their potential interactions with treatment
- Caring as a culturally defined concept; generic (emic) versus professional (etic) care
- Religion, spirituality, and their influence on decisions around illness, dying, and death
- Culturally shaped views of pain, family roles, and decision-making
Key Takeaway
With Domain 4 at 40% and Domain 2 at 20%, 60% of your score rides on applying culture care concepts to real situations. Spend most of your practice on scenario judgment, not on memorizing definitions.
The Small Domains: Outcomes, Research, Professionalism
Three domains are worth 5% each, so roughly five items apiece if the exam follows its weights. They are small, but they are also where graduate-prepared candidates can pick up reliable points that others skip.
Domain 1: Foundations (15%)
Know the major theoretical frameworks in transcultural nursing, key terminology (culture, ethnicity, acculturation, assimilation, ethnocentrism, cultural humility versus cultural competence), and the history and purpose of the discipline. This domain underpins vocabulary used in every other domain.
Domain 3: Assessment (10%)
Understand cultural assessment models and tools, how to gather cultural information respectfully, and how to avoid stereotyping while still using cultural knowledge. Expect questions on selecting an appropriate assessment approach and interpreting findings in context.
Domains 5, 6, and 7 (5% each)
- Evaluation of Care Outcomes: judging whether culturally congruent care achieved its goals and adjusting the plan.
- Research: ethical conduct with diverse populations, appropriate qualitative and quantitative approaches, community engagement, and applying evidence to practice.
- Professionalism: ethics, advocacy, leadership, mentoring, and ongoing cultural learning.
Three Original Practice Scenarios
These are original practice items written to mirror the style of scenario-based questions. They are not drawn from the actual exam.
Scenario 1 (Domain 4)
A hospitalized patient with limited English proficiency is scheduled for a consent discussion. The patient's adult daughter offers to interpret. What is the best action?
- A. Accept, since the daughter knows the patient best
- B. Use a qualified medical interpreter and let the daughter remain present as support
- C. Delay the procedure indefinitely
- D. Use simple gestures and a translated pamphlet
Answer: B. Qualified interpretation protects accuracy and confidentiality for consent, while including family respects the patient's support system. Family members can distort content or be placed in an inappropriate role.
Scenario 2 (Domain 2)
A patient with newly diagnosed hypertension tells you she drinks an herbal tea her grandmother prepared every morning. What is the most appropriate first response?
- A. Tell her to stop immediately
- B. Dismiss it as irrelevant
- C. Ask about the ingredients, frequency, and meaning, and check for interactions with her medications
- D. Report her to the physician as nonadherent
Answer: C. Exploring the practice respects its cultural significance while screening for safety, which keeps the door open for negotiation rather than conflict.
Scenario 3 (Domain 6)
You are planning a study on postpartum practices in an immigrant community. Which step best reflects ethical, culturally appropriate research design?
- A. Use only an existing English-language survey
- B. Engage community leaders early and adapt materials for language and cultural meaning
- C. Recruit through a single clinic only to save time
- D. Skip consent discussions for literate participants
Answer: B. Early community engagement and culturally adapted instruments support validity and respect for participants.
For a structured bank of questions mapped to all seven domains, try the CTN-A practice tests.
Misconceptions That Circulate Online
- "You pay $325 plus $450." No. Those are member and nonmember alternatives.
- "You need both a three-credit course and 42 contact hours." No. It is one or the other.
- "You need five full years of experience." The requirement is 2,400 relevant hours within the preceding five years.
- "There is an oral exam." The guide's historical oral-examination description does not establish a current oral assessment. The published exam is the multiple-choice test.
- "Basic and Advanced eligibility are interchangeable." They are not. Advanced requires graduate-level education and the three-of-five professional criteria.
- "CTN-A holders earn a certified premium of $X." No CTN-A-specific salary estimate or causal earnings premium was verified. Pages that quote pay usually describe general RN or transcultural-nurse pay. See the CTN-A salary guide and the ROI analysis for how to think about value without invented numbers.
Five-Year Validity and Renewal
Certification is valid for five years. Renewal involves an application with documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, which is subject to audit. You must keep qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria. Published requirements include 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years and three credits or 42 contact hours; no additional generic CEU quota is published.
| Renewal item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Fee (TCNS member) | $175 |
| Fee (nonmember) | $300 |
| New exam required? | The published renewal route does not specify one |
| Evidence | Subject to audit; retain documentation |
Start a renewal folder the day you certify: log practice hours, save course certificates, and record professional-criteria evidence as it happens. The re-certification guide carries a 2022 copyright; its January 2022 upload path is not a separately verified internal revision date, so confirm the current version before you submit.
Sequencing Your Review by Domain Weight
Rather than a generic template, tie your calendar to the blueprint. This sample eight-week sequence front-loads the heavy domains and reserves the final week for full-length, closed-book timing practice.
Domain 4 (40%)
- Culture care preservation, accommodation, and repatterning decisions
- Interpreter, translator, and cultural broker scenarios
Domain 2 (20%) and Domain 1 (15%)
- Health belief systems, healing practices, and caring concepts
- Theoretical frameworks and core terminology
Domain 3 (10%) and Domains 5-7 (5% each)
- Assessment models and tools
- Outcome evaluation, research ethics, and professionalism
Timed integration
- Two-hour, 100-question sittings with no notes and no breaks
- Review every missed item by domain
For a fuller plan, see the CTN-A study guide, and if you are weighing your readiness, how hard the CTN-A exam is offers a realistic view.
FAQ
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly disclosed.
The published passing score is 70%. An aggregate pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so treat any quoted percentage with skepticism.
No. $325 is the TCNS member rate and $450 is the nonmember rate. You pay one, plus any separately charged testing-site or service fee.
No. The exam is closed book with no personal notes, books, or electronic devices. A separate calculator policy was not verified, so confirm with TCNCC if it matters to you.
Certification is valid for five years. Renewal costs $175 for TCNS members or $300 for nonmembers, with eligibility evidence subject to audit.