- What CTN-A Certification Actually Is
- Who Qualifies: Eligibility Without the Myths
- Exam Format, Delivery, and Test Conditions
- The Seven Weighted Domains
- Original Practice Scenarios With Rationales
- Fees, Deadlines, and Application Timing
- Five-Year Validity and Renewal
- Careers and Return on Investment
- A Domain-Weighted Study Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTN-A is a 100-question, up-to-two-hour exam with a 70% passing score, issued through TCNCC and the Transcultural Nursing Society.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; add Healing Practices at 20% and you have 60% of your score.
- The $325 member and $450 nonmember fees are alternative rates, not additive, and testing-site charges may be billed separately.
- Eligibility requires graduate-level education plus evidence meeting three of five professional criteria, not a universal CTN-B prerequisite.
What CTN-A Certification Actually Is
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is a graduate-level credential awarded through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), which operates under the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). It recognizes nurses who can apply transcultural nursing theory, culturally congruent care planning, and cultural brokering at an advanced level, often in teaching, research, consultation, administration, or advanced clinical roles.
The official materials use slightly different wording: the exam guide cover reads "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced," while its designation section reads "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced." Both refer to the same credential. If you are brand new to the terminology, our explainers on what CTN-A certification is and what CTN-A stands for cover the basics, while this article focuses on the full picture of how the credential works.
Who Qualifies: Eligibility Without the Myths
Eligibility is where most third-party career sites go wrong. The Advanced Certification page on tcns.org and the exam guide support the following requirements:
- Licensure: an active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
- Education: a qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with accreditation specified by the issuer (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
- Employment: current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
- Cultural-care education: at least a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours. It is one or the other, not both.
- Practice hours: 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years. This is an hours-within-a-window requirement, not five full years of employment.
- Professional criteria: evidence satisfying three of the five criteria: professional growth; creative and innovative practice; research; substantive or unique contributions; and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.
Supporting letters can serve as evidence examples, but no universal fixed reference count is published. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. For a deeper walk-through of qualifying paths, see our CTN-A requirements guide.
Examination Versus Audit
Certification requires passing the examination, and you must retain your eligibility evidence in case of a possible portfolio audit. Keep transcripts, license verification, employment documentation, proof of the cultural-care course or contact hours, and your evidence for the three professional criteria in an organized file. The exam guide's historical description of an oral examination does not establish a current oral assessment, so claims that you must sit for an oral exam today should be treated with caution.
Basic Versus Advanced
CTN-B and CTN-A are not rungs on a mandatory ladder. CTN-A is distinguished by graduate preparation, the professional-criteria evidence, and an exam scope that weighs advanced transcultural care planning, research, and professional leadership. Candidates comparing them should focus on their education, role, and evidence portfolio rather than assuming one must precede the other.
Exam Format, Delivery, and Test Conditions
| Element | What TCNCC Publishes |
|---|---|
| Question count | 100 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | Up to two hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not publicly disclosed |
| Aggregate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Delivery | TCNCC-coordinated computer testing at approved university or professional sites (including NCTA/CCTC), or an approved online proctored arrangement |
| Materials | Closed book; no personal notes, books, or electronic devices |
| Breaks | None scheduled; unscheduled breaks use exam time |
Because no aggregate pass rate is published, any specific percentage you see online is unverified. Our analysis of what the pass-rate data does and does not show and the passing score breakdown explain how to reason about this uncertainty. For candidates wondering about difficulty, how hard the CTN-A exam is addresses the question qualitatively.
Testing Sites and Online Proctoring
The guide references both the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC) and the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS). No named remote-proctoring vendor was verified, and no contract with Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric was confirmed, so avoid assuming your experience will resemble a typical commercial nursing exam. The application confirms both in-person and online proctored options and makes you responsible for testing-site or service charges.
Two practical points: with 100 questions in up to two hours and no scheduled breaks, you have roughly a minute and a half per item, so pacing matters. And since the policies on calculators and adaptive testing were not verified, do not plan around either; confirm with TCNCC when you schedule.
The Seven Weighted Domains
The seven domains below are official weighted examination domains, and they total 100%. Because weighting is so lopsided, how you divide study time should be too. Our complete domains guide goes deeper on each; here is the working summary.
Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
The largest domain by far. It tests whether you can turn cultural information into actual care decisions: preserving, accommodating, or repatterning care in line with a client's cultural context.
- Culturally congruent care planning across the lifespan and across care settings
- Working with professional interpreters and translators, and understanding why family members are poor substitutes in clinical settings
- Cultural brokering between clients, families, and the health care system
- Addressing language access, health literacy, and communication style differences
- Handling conflicts between biomedical recommendations and cultural or religious practices
Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
This domain covers how cultures define health, illness, caring, and healing, and how traditional and folk practices interact with biomedical care.
- Traditional healers, folk remedies, and complementary practices, including safety and interaction considerations
- Culturally specific beliefs about illness causation, dietary practices, and life-cycle rituals
- Distinguishing generic (folk) care from professional care in Leininger-style terms
- Respecting practices while screening for harm
Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)
Theory and concept mastery: the vocabulary and models that underlie the rest of the exam.
- Core concepts such as culture, ethnocentrism, cultural humility, cultural competence, and culture care diversity and universality
- Major theories and models of transcultural nursing and how they guide practice
- Historical foundations and the development of the specialty
- Social determinants, structural inequities, and their effect on care
Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)
How you gather and interpret cultural data without stereotyping.
- Structured cultural assessment tools and when to apply them
- Individual versus group-level assumptions; avoiding generalization
- Assessing acculturation, immigration history, and communication preferences
- Recognizing bias in the assessment process itself
Domains 5, 6, and 7: Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism (5% each)
Small individually, but together 15% of the exam, and often neglected.
- Evaluation of Care Outcomes: measuring whether culturally congruent interventions worked, and adjusting plans when they did not
- Research: appropriate methods for cultural inquiry, ethical conduct with diverse and vulnerable populations, and applying evidence to practice
- Professionalism: advocacy, leadership, ethical obligations, and the role of the advanced transcultural nurse in organizations and policy
Key Takeaway
Domains 4 and 2 together account for 60% of the exam. A candidate who is strong there but weak on Research and Professionalism can still pass; the reverse is far riskier. Weight your hours accordingly.
Original Practice Scenarios With Rationales
The exam uses multiple-choice items, and advanced-level questions tend to be scenario-driven: you are asked for the best or most appropriate action, not a recalled definition. The following original practice questions illustrate the style. For a larger set, try the CTN-A practice tests.
Scenario 1 (Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care)
A nurse consultant is reviewing the care plan of a postpartum patient from a culture that observes a postpartum confinement period with specific dietary restrictions. The unit's standard discharge teaching conflicts with these practices. What is the best next step?
- Provide standard teaching and document that the patient was informed
- Explore which practices matter most to the patient and family, identify which are safe, and negotiate a plan that preserves or accommodates them where possible
- Ask the patient to abandon practices that differ from hospital policy
- Defer to the oldest family member on all decisions
Answer: B. The preservation/accommodation/repatterning framework calls for exploring meaning and safety, then negotiating. Option A ignores the cultural context, C is coercive, and D replaces the patient's own voice with an assumption about family hierarchy.
Scenario 2 (Domain 4: Interpreters and Brokering)
A patient with limited English proficiency needs informed consent for a procedure. The patient's teenage child offers to interpret. What should the nurse do?
- Accept, since the child knows the family best
- Use a qualified medical interpreter, thank the child, and keep the child in a family-support role
- Proceed using gestures and simple English
- Delay all care indefinitely
Answer: B. Qualified interpreters protect accuracy, confidentiality, and the child from an inappropriate role. Options A and C risk misunderstanding; D is unnecessary harm.
Scenario 3 (Domain 2: Healing Practices)
A patient with a chronic condition discloses using an herbal preparation recommended by a traditional healer. Which response is most consistent with culturally congruent care?
- Tell the patient the remedy is ineffective and must be stopped
- Ignore the disclosure to preserve rapport
- Express interest, gather details on the preparation, check for interactions with prescribed therapy, and collaborate on a safe combined plan
- Report the patient to the provider as noncompliant
Answer: C. Respectful inquiry plus safety screening keeps the patient engaged and addresses real risk. A and D damage trust; B leaves a potential interaction unexamined.
Scenario 4 (Domain 3: Assessment)
A nurse is assessing a recent immigrant and plans questions based on a published summary of the patient's national cultural group. What is the main risk?
- The summary may be too detailed
- Applying group-level generalizations to an individual can produce stereotyping and miss the patient's actual beliefs, acculturation level, and preferences
- Cultural information is never useful
- There is no risk if the source is published
Answer: B. Group knowledge is a starting point for inquiry, not a substitute for individual assessment.
Scenario 5 (Domains 5 and 6: Outcomes and Research)
An advanced practice nurse wants to evaluate whether a culturally tailored diabetes education program improved outcomes in a community with historically poor trust in the health system. Which approach best reflects ethical, culturally appropriate research?
- Design the study privately and present results to the community afterward
- Engage community members as partners in design, use outcome measures meaningful to them, and share findings back with the community
- Use only measures developed for a different population for convenience
- Skip ethics review because the program is educational
Answer: B. Participatory approaches improve relevance and trust, and culturally valid measures matter for evaluating outcomes accurately.
Fees, Deadlines, and Application Timing
The published application/exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates based on membership status; they are not added together. On top of that, the applicant is responsible for any separately charged testing-service fee, and no fixed proctoring surcharge is published. Because membership has its own cost, compare the total before deciding whether to join. For a full breakdown, see our CTN-A certification cost guide.
- Standard applications: apply at least five weeks before your intended test date.
- Documented accommodations: submit requests at least six weeks ahead.
Plan your calendar backward from your preferred test date, allowing time to assemble your evidence file. Our exam dates and scheduling guide covers timing strategy in more detail.
Five-Year Validity and Renewal
CTN-A certification is valid for five years. Renewal is evidence-based: you submit an application with documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit, and show that you have maintained qualifying licensure, education, and employment. The published requirements include 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years, the three-credit course or 42 contact hours of cultural-care education, and evidence meeting three of five professional criteria. No additional generic CEU quota is published, and the published renewal route does not specify a new exam.
| Item | Initial Certification | Renewal |
|---|---|---|
| Fee, TCNS member | $325 | $175 |
| Fee, nonmember | $450 | $300 |
| Exam required | Yes | Not specified in the published route |
| Evidence | Eligibility evidence retained for possible audit | Documentary evidence/attestation, subject to audit |
| Validity | Five years | |
Keep your evidence organized from the day you are certified. Documenting hours, courses, and professional contributions as they happen is far easier than reconstructing them five years later. Reference material: TCNS's Advanced Re-Certification page and the CTN-A Re-Certification guide (copyright 2022).
Careers and Return on Investment
CTN-A holders are typically graduate-prepared nurses working in academia, research, hospital and health-system administration, quality and diversity initiatives, public and community health, consultation, and advanced clinical roles. Employers who value the credential tend to be organizations serving linguistically and culturally diverse populations, universities with transcultural or global health programs, and systems building equity and language-access infrastructure. See our overview of CTN-A jobs for role ideas.
The realistic return is often professional rather than directly monetary: credibility in consultation and teaching, a defensible evidence portfolio, differentiation in competitive academic and leadership roles, and alignment with organizational equity goals. Weigh those against the application fee, testing-site charges, membership cost if applicable, and the time spent preparing.
A Domain-Weighted Study Sequence
Because the exam is closed book and scenario-heavy, the goal is judgment, not memorization. Since the reference list in the guide is dated, anchor your reading in foundational transcultural nursing theory and then layer in current language-access and equity practice. Our CTN-A study guide expands this plan, and the cheat sheet is useful for late review.
Foundations and Assessment (Domains 1 and 3)
- Master core vocabulary and the major theories so scenario questions become easier to decode
- Practice distinguishing assessment from stereotyping
Healing Practices (Domain 2, 20%)
- Study how cultures frame illness and healing, plus safety screening of traditional remedies
- Work scenarios on folk versus professional care
Culturally-Based Nursing Care (Domain 4, 40%)
- Spend the most time here: preservation, accommodation, repatterning, interpreters, and brokering
- Drill scenario questions daily and review every rationale
Outcomes, Research, Professionalism (Domains 5-7) and Full Practice Exams
- Cover the small domains and ethics of research with diverse populations
- Take timed 100-question sets to rehearse two-hour pacing with no breaks
Schedule Domain 4 late enough that earlier domains give you the vocabulary, but early enough that you can revisit it during full-length practice.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, and the passing score is 70%. The split between scored and unscored items is not publicly disclosed.
No. $325 is the rate for TCNS members and $450 is for nonmembers. They are alternatives. You may also owe a separate testing-site or service charge.
Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. Eligibility centers on RN licensure, graduate education, employment, cultural-care education, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, and three of five professional criteria.
The application confirms an approved online proctored arrangement as well as in-person computer testing at approved sites. You are responsible for testing-service charges, and no specific remote-proctoring vendor has been verified.
Certification is valid for five years. Renewal involves an application with documentary evidence or attestation subject to audit, covering licensure, education, employment, practice hours, cultural-care education, and three of five professional criteria. Fees are $175 for members and $300 for nonmembers, and the published route does not specify a new exam.