CTN-A logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A CTN-A?

TL;DR
  • CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, awarded through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) and the Transcultural...
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
  • Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices adds 20%.
  • Eligibility requires graduate-level education plus 2,400 relevant practice hours in the preceding five years.

What a CTN-A Actually Is

A CTN-A is a registered nurse who has earned the Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced credential. The title signals graduate-level preparation in delivering, teaching, researching, or leading culturally congruent care. It is not a general "cultural competence" badge, and it is not a continuing-education certificate. It is a professional certification that requires passing a proctored examination and documenting a record of advanced practice.

The official exam guide uses slightly different wording in different places: the cover reads "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced," while the designation section reads "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced." Both refer to the same credential. If you want the shorter explainers on the name itself, see What Does CTN-A Stand For? and CTN-A Meaning.

The "Advanced" label matters because the Transcultural Nursing Society also offers a basic-level certification, commonly called CTN-B. The two are separate tracks with different expectations. Advanced certification is built around master's, post-master's, or doctoral preparation, and it asks candidates to demonstrate contributions beyond bedside competence: scholarship, leadership, innovation, and consultation.

Who Governs the Credential

The certifying authority is the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). TCNCC publishes the CTN-Advanced Exam Guide, which defines eligibility, the exam content outline, test conditions, and policies. The current Advanced Certification page on the TCNS website links to that guide.

A note on dated source material: The exam guide states that its content was last revised in January 2022, while its embedded content outline is marked 1/2011 and its reference list shows a 2010 revision. The file sits at a 2026 upload path, but that does not by itself establish a new 2026 blueprint. Treat the published domain weights as current, and expect the reference list to lean on older foundational texts rather than recent literature.

Because the credential sits within the TCNS ecosystem, the philosophy behind it is the one the Society promotes: culture care theory, culturally congruent practice, and the integration of generic (folk), professional, and cross-cultural knowledge. Candidates who have never engaged with that body of thought will find the exam harder than their clinical experience alone would suggest. For a deeper difficulty discussion, read How Hard Is the CTN-A Exam?

Who Qualifies to Sit for It

Eligibility is where the CTN-A diverges most sharply from entry-level nursing certifications. According to the Advanced Certification page, an applicant needs all of the following:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license or a legally recognized international equivalent.
  • Graduate-level education: a qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, from a program with the issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
  • Current employment in nursing, full-time or part-time, including self-employment.
  • Cultural education: at least one three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course, or 42 continuing-education contact hours. These are alternatives, not a combined requirement.
  • 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years. This is a count of hours within a five-year window, not a requirement of five full years of employment.
  • Evidence satisfying three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.

Supporting letters can serve as evidence for the professional criteria, but the published materials do not set a universal fixed number of references. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. Candidates should retain documentation, because eligibility evidence may be subject to a portfolio audit.

A form inconsistency to know about: The current application form includes wording that references diploma, associate, and BSN pathways and CTN-B, and its introduction says "all five" additional criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide support graduate education and three of five criteria. If your reading of the form seems to conflict with the web page, contact TCNS to confirm before you submit. Do not assume a lower education bar applies to Advanced.

For a step-by-step qualification walkthrough, see CTN-A Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

The Exam: Format, Scoring, and Delivery

FeatureCTN-A Detail
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
Time limitUp to two hours
Passing score70%
Scored/unscored splitNot publicly disclosed
Aggregate pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Reference materialsClosed book; no personal notes, books, or electronic devices
BreaksNone scheduled; unscheduled breaks consume exam time
DeliveryTCNCC-coordinated computer testing at approved sites, or approved online proctored arrangement

How delivery works

The exam is coordinated by TCNCC and delivered through approved university or professional testing sites, including the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC). The exam guide also references National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS). An approved online proctored arrangement is also available. The published materials do not name a specific remote-proctoring vendor, and no contract with Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric has been verified, so do not assume any of those brands apply.

The applicant is responsible for any testing-site or service charges, which are billed separately from the application and exam fee.

What the questions feel like

Expect scenario-driven items that ask you to choose the most culturally congruent, theoretically sound, or professionally appropriate action. The candidate pool is graduate-prepared, so the questions assume you can handle clinical content and instead test whether you can apply transcultural frameworks: when to use a professional interpreter rather than a family member, how to negotiate care with a patient who relies on folk remedies, how to evaluate whether an intervention truly preserved, accommodated, or repatterned cultural care. The passing score is a straightforward 70%. The exam guide does not describe a pass-rate statistic or an adaptive-testing policy, so see CTN-A Passing Score and CTN-A Pass Rate: What the Data Shows for how to interpret the missing data responsibly.

A historical oral-examination description appears in older guide language, but it does not establish a current oral assessment. The current route is the computer-based or online proctored multiple-choice exam.

The Seven Weighted Domains

The seven headings below are the official weighted examination domains, and they total 100%. They are not editorial study categories. The weights tell you where your points are.

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

The largest domain by a wide margin. This is where transcultural theory becomes practice decisions.

  • Culture care preservation/maintenance, accommodation/negotiation, and repatterning/restructuring as decision categories
  • Working with interpreters and translators, and the role of cultural brokering
  • Planning care that integrates a patient's values, beliefs, and lifeways with biomedical treatment
  • Advanced practice contributions: consultation, program design, and teaching culturally congruent care

Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

The second-heaviest domain. It tests knowledge of how different cultures understand health, illness, and healing.

  • Generic (folk) and professional care systems and how they interact
  • Traditional healers, remedies, and rituals, and their implications for safety and adherence
  • Caring as a cultural construct and how it is expressed differently across groups

Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)

Theory, history, and concepts that underlie everything else.

  • Core transcultural nursing theory and its key concepts
  • Culture, worldview, ethnocentrism, and cultural imposition
  • Social structure dimensions that shape health and care

Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)

Gathering and interpreting cultural data in a way that is systematic rather than stereotyped.

  • Cultural assessment models and tools
  • Distinguishing cultural patterns from individual variation
  • Interviewing across language and communication differences

Domains 5, 6, and 7: Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism (5% each)

Small individually, but together worth 15% of the exam and easy to underprepare.

  • Evaluation of Care Outcomes: judging whether care was culturally congruent and effective
  • Research: appropriate methods and ethics for studying culture and care, including community-sensitive designs
  • Professionalism: ethics, advocacy, leadership, and scope of advanced transcultural practice

The full blueprint is unpacked in CTN-A Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

Fees, Deadlines, and Application Mechanics

The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates. You pay one or the other, not both. On top of that, any testing-site or testing-service charge is billed separately and is the applicant's responsibility; no fixed proctoring surcharge is published.

Cost ItemAmount
Application/exam fee (TCNS member)$325
Application/exam fee (nonmember)$450
Testing-site or service chargeSet by the site or service; paid separately
Renewal (member)$175
Renewal (nonmember)$300

Timing rules are firm: apply at least five weeks before your intended test date, and allow six weeks if you need a documented accommodation. Because eligibility evidence has to be assembled (hours, education, professional criteria), start gathering documents well before you apply. A complete pricing discussion is in CTN-A Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling specifics are covered in CTN-A Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Five-Year Validity and Renewal

Certification is valid for five years. Renewal is handled through an application with documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, which can be audited. Renewal candidates must continue to hold qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and must meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria. The published requirements include 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years and either three credits or 42 contact hours of cultural-care education.

The published renewal route does not specify a new exam, and no additional generic CEU quota is published beyond those items. Renewal costs $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers. Practical advice: keep a running file of practice hours, publications, presentations, committee leadership, and consultation work throughout the cycle. That file serves your renewal and doubles as audit protection.

Where the Credential Fits in a Career

CTN-A holders are typically graduate-prepared nurses working where cultural expertise shapes institutional outcomes: nurse educators and faculty, clinical nurse specialists, nurse researchers, patient-experience and health-equity leaders, community and public health program directors, and consultants who advise organizations on language access and culturally responsive care. Employers in academic medical centers, universities, public health departments, and large health systems serving diverse populations are the most natural fit.

On compensation, be cautious. The pay pages reviewed for this topic use general RN or transcultural-nurse figures. No current CTN-A-specific salary estimate or causal earnings premium has been verified, so any claim that the credential raises pay by a stated amount is unsupported. The better framing is that the credential documents specialized expertise that can support promotion, faculty standing, grant competitiveness, or consulting credibility, with the financial effect depending heavily on your role and employer. For a measured discussion, see CTN-A Salary Guide, Is the CTN-A Certification Worth It?, and CTN-A Jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Weights

You do not need a generic study system. You need an order that respects the blueprint. Because Domains 4 and 2 account for 60% of the exam together, they deserve the most repetition, but theory in Domain 1 is what makes those scenarios answerable, so it comes first.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and theory (Domain 1)

  • Master the vocabulary of culture care theory and the three modes of culturally congruent action
  • Be able to distinguish ethnocentrism, cultural imposition, and cultural blindness in a scenario
Weeks 3-4

Healing practices and assessment (Domains 2 and 3)

  • Review generic versus professional care systems and common folk practices with safety implications
  • Practice applying assessment models without stereotyping
Weeks 5-7

Culturally-based nursing care (Domain 4)

  • Work scenario after scenario on interpreter use, brokering, negotiation, and repatterning
  • Explain why each wrong option fails, not just why one is right
Week 8

The small domains and full review (Domains 5, 6, 7)

  • Cover outcome evaluation, community-sensitive research methods, and ethics/leadership
  • Finish with a timed 100-question run to rehearse the two-hour limit

The two-hour limit gives roughly a minute and a half per question on average, so timed practice matters. A fuller roadmap is in CTN-A Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and a condensed review sheet is in the CTN-A Cheat Sheet. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, use the CTN-A practice tests and the full question bank.

Sample Advanced-Level Scenarios

These original examples show the reasoning style the exam rewards. They are illustrations, not actual exam items.

Scenario 1 (Domain 4): A hospitalized patient who speaks limited English is accompanied by a teenage grandchild who offers to translate during a consent discussion about a high-risk procedure. What is the best action?

Best answer: arrange a qualified medical interpreter. Using a minor family member risks inaccurate translation, breaches of privacy, and inappropriate burden on the child. Informed consent requires accurate, impartial interpretation. The grandchild can stay as a support person if the patient wishes.
Scenario 2 (Domain 2): A patient with a chronic condition uses a traditional herbal preparation daily and fears the care team will disapprove. Which approach best reflects culturally congruent care?

Best answer: explore the remedy openly, check for interactions, and negotiate a plan that preserves safe practices while modifying anything harmful. Dismissing the practice is cultural imposition; ignoring potential interactions is unsafe. This is the accommodation/negotiation mode in action.
Scenario 3 (Domain 6): A nurse researcher plans a study with a recently resettled community. Which step best supports ethical, culturally sensitive research?

Best answer: engage community leaders in the design, ensure consent materials are linguistically and culturally appropriate, and plan how findings will be shared back. Respecting community participation is central to ethical transcultural inquiry.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does a CTN-A credential stand for?

It stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, a graduate-level certification awarded through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) and the Transcultural Nursing Society. It is distinct from the basic-level transcultural certification. See also What Is CTN-A Certification?

How many questions are on the exam, and what score do I need?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours, and the passing score is 70%. The scored/unscored split and the aggregate pass rate are not publicly disclosed.

Do I need to be a CTN-B before applying for CTN-A?

Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. What is required is an active unrestricted RN license, qualifying graduate education, current nursing employment, 2,400 relevant hours in the preceding five years, a cultural-diversity course or 42 contact hours, and evidence meeting three of five professional criteria.

How much does certification cost?

The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers; these are alternative rates, not additive. Any testing-site or service charge is separate. Renewal is $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers.

How long does the certification last?

Five years. Renewal requires an application with eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit, and the published renewal route does not specify a new exam. Apply at least five weeks before your intended test date, or six weeks if you need documented accommodations.

For related quick explainers, you can also browse What Is CTN-A?, What Does CTN-A Mean?, and the overview at CTN-A Certification.

Ready to pass your CTN-A exam?

Put this into practice with free CTN-A questions across every exam domain.