CTN-A logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CTN-A?

TL;DR
  • CTN-A means Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, granted through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) of the Transcultural Nursing...
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
  • Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices adds 20%.
  • Eligibility centers on graduate education, 2,400 practice hours in five years, and three of five professional criteria.

What CTN-A Actually Is

CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is a specialty credential for registered nurses who work at an advanced level of transcultural care: they plan, lead, teach, research, consult on, or administer culturally congruent nursing practice rather than simply delivering it at the bedside. If you have been searching for the full meaning of the CTN-A acronym, this is the whole answer: transcultural nursing, advanced tier, certified by examination plus documented eligibility evidence.

One note on naming. TCNCC's own exam guide uses slightly different wording in different places, with "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced" on the cover and "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced" in the designation section. They refer to the same credential. Because other certifications elsewhere in healthcare also abbreviate to "CTN-A," always confirm you are looking at TCNCC and the Transcultural Nursing Society materials before relying on any fee, date, or exam detail you find online.

Identity check: Everything on this page concerns the transcultural nursing credential only. If a source mentions a different certifying body, a different fee schedule, or a different exam length, it is describing a different credential that happens to share the abbreviation.

For a broader overview of how the credential fits the profession, see our CTN-A certification page, and use What Is CTN-A Certification? if you want the shorter definition-first version.

Who Governs the Credential

The credential is governed by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) and administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). TCNCC publishes an Advanced Exam Guide, an application, and separate re-certification materials. The guide on the TCNS site states its content was last revised in January 2022, while the embedded content outline is dated 1/2011 and its reference list shows a 2010 revision.

That dating matters for preparation. The blueprint is older than many candidates assume, and the guide's reference list leans on foundational transcultural nursing literature rather than recent trend pieces. Do not assume a 2026 blueprint overhaul exists; the file's upload path does not establish one. Build your study around the seven published domains and the references TCNCC lists, and cross-check against the complete guide to all seven CTN-A content areas.

How Advanced Differs from Basic (CTN-B)

Transcultural nursing certification comes in a Basic tier (CTN-B) and an Advanced tier (CTN-A). Many online career pages blur the two, and that blur causes real applicant mistakes. The practical differences:

DimensionCTN-A (Advanced)CTN-B (Basic)
Education emphasisMaster's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related fieldLower education threshold; a separate Basic track with its own guide
Practice focusClinical practice, teaching, research, or administration at an advanced levelDirect-care and foundational application of transcultural concepts
Professional evidenceThree of five professional criteria, such as leadership, research, or substantive contributionsNot framed around these criteria
Prior CTN-BNot listed as a universal prerequisiteNot applicable

Importantly, holding CTN-B is not a universal gate to sit for the Advanced exam. Do not let a third-party page tell you otherwise; check the issuer's Advanced Certification page directly.

Eligibility: What the Issuer Requires

The Advanced Certification page and exam guide set out the following requirements. Treat this as a summary and confirm details with TCNCC before applying; our CTN-A requirements guide walks through qualifying in more depth.

  • Licensure: an active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
  • Education: a qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, from a program with the issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
  • Employment: current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
  • Cultural education: at least one three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours. It is one or the other, not both.
  • Practice hours: 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years. This is an hours total within a five-year window, not a requirement of five uninterrupted full years.
  • Professional criteria: evidence satisfying three of five criteria: professional growth; creative and innovative practice; research; substantive or unique contributions; and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.
A known inconsistency: The current online application contains some wording that mentions diploma, associate, or BSN pathways and CTN-B, and its introduction says "all five" criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide support graduate education and three-of-five. Do not assume the looser form language lowers the Advanced standard; if your situation depends on it, ask TCNCC to confirm in writing.

Letters of support are examples of acceptable evidence, not a fixed universal reference count. Keep your documentation organized and retained, because certification requires both the examination and eligibility evidence that may be audited later. The guide's historical description of an oral examination should not be read as establishing a current oral assessment.

The Exam: Format, Delivery, and Rules

The CTN-A exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours. The passing score is 70%. TCNCC does not publicly disclose the split between scored and unscored items, nor an aggregate pass rate, so any specific pass-rate figure you see is unverified. Our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said honestly, and the passing score breakdown covers what 70% means in practice.

Delivery options

TCNCC coordinates computer-based testing through approved university and professional testing sites, including the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC), or through an approved online proctored arrangement. The exam guide also references the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS). No specific remote-proctoring vendor has been verified, so do not assume a particular commercial testing company. The application confirms both in-person and online options, and the applicant is responsible for any testing-site or service charges.

Test-day conditions

  • Closed book: no personal notes, books, or electronic devices.
  • No scheduled breaks. Unscheduled breaks consume exam time, so plan accordingly.
  • A separate calculator policy and any adaptive-testing policy were not verified; ask TCNCC if either matters to you.

With roughly 72 seconds per question on average, pacing matters. Advanced-level stems tend to be scenario-driven, so reading discipline is as important as content recall. For a candid look at the difficulty, see how hard the CTN-A exam is.

The Seven Weighted Domains

The seven headings below are the official weighted examination domains. They total 100%, and they are exam content areas, not editorial study topics.

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

By far the largest domain. Expect applied, decision-oriented scenarios where you must choose the most culturally congruent nursing action.

  • Culture care preservation/maintenance, accommodation/negotiation, and repatterning/restructuring as decision frameworks
  • Working with interpreters versus translators, and the role of cultural brokering
  • Adapting care plans, consent processes, and patient education to cultural context
  • Balancing evidence-based standards with patient beliefs without imposing your own cultural assumptions

Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

Knowledge of how different cultural groups understand illness, caring, and healing, and how those beliefs intersect with biomedical care.

  • Folk, traditional, and religious healing practices and how they coexist with prescribed treatment
  • Beliefs about illness causation, diet, birth, death, and the body
  • Recognizing when a practice is harmful versus merely unfamiliar, and how to respond

Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)

Theory and concepts underlying the specialty: culture, worldview, ethnocentrism, cultural humility versus competence, and the established transcultural nursing models.

  • Core vocabulary and distinctions between closely related terms
  • Major theoretical frameworks and how each guides practice

Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)

Gathering culturally relevant data accurately and respectfully.

  • Cultural assessment tools and when each is appropriate
  • Avoiding stereotyping while still using group-level knowledge responsibly
  • Assessing communication style, family structure, decision-making norms, and health literacy

Domains 5, 6, and 7: Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism (5% each)

Small individually, but together they make up 15% of the exam.

  • Evaluation of Care Outcomes: judging whether care was culturally congruent and effective
  • Research: appraising and applying transcultural research, ethical considerations with diverse populations
  • Professionalism: leadership, advocacy, ethics, and continuing development in transcultural practice

For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see the CTN-A exam domains guide.

Sample Advanced-Style Questions with Rationales

These original practice items mirror the scenario style of the exam. Try each before reading the rationale. For more, use the CTN-A practice tests.

Question 1 (Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care)

A patient from a community that values collective family decision-making is told by the physician that surgery is recommended. The patient says, "My family will decide." The nurse has confirmed the patient has decision-making capacity. What is the best action?

  1. Insist the patient decide alone to satisfy informed-consent standards
  2. Ask the patient how they wish information to be shared and who should be involved, then facilitate that process while documenting the patient's expressed preference
  3. Defer entirely to the family and bypass the patient
  4. Postpone surgery until the patient adopts an individual decision-making approach

Rationale: B is correct. It respects the patient's autonomy by letting the patient define how the decision is made, which reflects culture care accommodation and negotiation. A imposes the nurse's cultural norm; C removes the patient's voice; D is coercive and unnecessary.

Question 2 (Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices)

A patient on a prescribed regimen reports also using a traditional herbal preparation daily. What should the nurse do first?

  1. Tell the patient to stop immediately
  2. Ignore it since it is not part of the plan of care
  3. Respectfully gather details about the preparation and its use, then collaborate with the prescriber and pharmacist to evaluate safety and potential interactions
  4. Document it as noncompliance

Rationale: C is correct. It combines respectful inquiry with safety evaluation. A and D are dismissive; B ignores a potential interaction risk.

Question 3 (Domain 3: Assessment)

Which approach best supports accurate cultural assessment of a new patient?

  1. Assume group-level generalizations apply to the individual
  2. Use open-ended questions about the patient's own beliefs, practices, and preferences, treating group knowledge as a starting point rather than a conclusion
  3. Rely solely on the family's description
  4. Skip assessment if the patient speaks English

Rationale: B is correct. Individual variation within cultural groups is substantial, and language fluency does not equal cultural alignment.

Fees, Deadlines, and Application Timing

ItemTCNS MemberNonmember
Application/exam fee$325$450
Renewal fee$175$300

These are alternative rates, not additive fees: you pay the member rate or the nonmember rate, not both. Separately, the applicant is responsible for any testing-service or site charges, and no fixed proctoring surcharge is published. Some third-party career pages incorrectly add the two rates together; do not.

For timing, apply at least five weeks before your intended test date. Documented accommodation requests require six weeks. Because accommodation lead time is longer than the standard window, request accommodations first if you need them. Our CTN-A certification cost breakdown and exam dates and scheduling guide go deeper on budgeting and calendar planning.

Five-Year Validity and Renewal

The certification is valid for five years. Renewal runs through TCNS's Advanced Re-Certification process and the CTN-A Re-Certification guide (copyright 2022). The published route involves an application plus documentary eligibility evidence or attestation that can be audited, and it asks you to:

  • Maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment
  • Show 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years
  • Show three credits or 42 contact hours of cultural-care education
  • Meet the three-of-five professional criteria

No additional generic CEU quota is published, and the published renewal route does not specify a new exam. Renewal fees are $175 for members and $300 for nonmembers. Because renewal can be audited, keep dated records of practice hours, coursework, and professional-criteria evidence from day one of your certification cycle rather than reconstructing them in year five.

Career Value and Who Hires

CTN-A is aimed at nurses in advanced roles: nurse educators and faculty, clinical nurse specialists and advanced practice nurses, researchers, nursing administrators, diversity and inclusion leads in health systems, community and public health leaders, and consultants. Employers that value this kind of expertise include academic nursing programs, large health systems serving diverse populations, public health agencies, and organizations running global or refugee health programs. Explore role ideas on our CTN-A jobs page.

Be careful with salary claims: The career pages we reviewed use general RN or transcultural-nurse pay data. No current CTN-A-specific salary estimate or causal earnings premium has been verified. Treat the credential's value as professional recognition, role eligibility, and credibility in leadership, teaching, and research rather than a guaranteed raise. The CTN-A salary guide and ROI analysis separate general RN pay from credential-specific value honestly.

Weighting Your Preparation

The one planning principle that follows directly from the blueprint: allocate time roughly in proportion to domain weight, but front-load the foundations so the heavy domains make sense. A sample sequence for an eight-week effort:

Weeks 1-2

Domain 1 and Domain 3

  • Master vocabulary, theories, and assessment tools
  • These 25% of the exam supply the language used in every other domain
Weeks 3-4

Domain 2

  • Study health, caring, and healing beliefs across cultural groups
  • Practice distinguishing harmless from harmful practices
Weeks 5-6

Domain 4

  • Work scenario questions on preservation, accommodation, and repatterning
  • Drill interpreter and brokering situations
Weeks 7-8

Domains 5-7 and full review

  • Cover outcomes, research, and professionalism
  • Run timed 100-question sets under two-hour conditions with no notes

Because the exam is closed-book with no scheduled breaks, practice sitting for a full two-hour block at least once. For a full methodology, see the CTN-A study guide, and keep the CTN-A cheat sheet handy for last-week review. Then pressure-test yourself with questions at CTN-A Exam Prep.

Key Takeaway

Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%) plus Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%) make up 60% of your score. If you must prioritize, drill applied scenarios in those two domains while keeping the smaller domains from being a surprise.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CTN-A stand for?

CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, a specialty certification granted through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) of the Transcultural Nursing Society. The official guide also uses the phrasing "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced" on its cover.

How many questions are on the CTN-A exam and what score passes?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours, with a passing score of 70%. The scored versus unscored split and the aggregate pass rate are not publicly disclosed.

Do I need CTN-B before applying for CTN-A?

Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite for the Advanced credential. The Advanced Certification page emphasizes graduate education, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, and evidence meeting three of five professional criteria.

Do the member and nonmember fees add together?

No. The application/exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, as alternative rates. Testing-site or service charges may be billed separately by the testing provider.

How long does CTN-A last and how do I renew?

Certification is valid for five years. Renewal involves an application and documentary evidence or attestation, subject to audit, covering licensure, education, employment, practice hours, cultural-care education, and the three-of-five professional criteria. Renewal fees are $175 for members and $300 for nonmembers, and the published route does not specify a new exam.

Ready to pass your CTN-A exam?

Put this into practice with free CTN-A questions across every exam domain.