- What the Letters Actually Stand For
- Who Issues the Credential
- Advanced vs. Basic: Why the "A" Matters
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The Seven Weighted Domains
- What "Advanced" Demands From Applicants
- Fees, Testing Sites, and Deadlines
- How Advanced Questions Reward Judgment
- Five-Year Validity and Renewal
- Where the Credential Fits in a Career
- Scheduling Study Time by Domain Weight
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTN-A means Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, issued through TCNCC and the Transcultural Nursing Society.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the blueprint; healing practices adds another 20%.
- Fees are $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers: alternative rates, not additive.
What the Letters Actually Stand For
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is a graduate-level nursing credential that recognizes expertise in providing, teaching, researching, and leading culturally congruent care. If you have seen the same four letters attached to other credentials in other fields, set those aside: nothing about their sponsors, fees, or exam formats applies here.
The wording varies slightly in official materials. The exam guide's cover reads "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced," while its designation section says "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced." Both refer to the same credential. If you want a broader orientation before going deeper, our overview What Is CTN-A? and the companion piece What Does CTN-A Stand For? cover the naming in more detail.
Who Issues the Credential
The Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) governs the credential, and it is administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). This matters for two practical reasons. First, every requirement you read about, from eligibility to renewal, traces back to TCNCC documents rather than a third-party testing company's marketing. Second, the study materials that matter most are the ones aligned to TCNCC's published exam guide and content outline.
Advanced vs. Basic: Why the "A" Matters
TCNS offers a basic transcultural nursing certification alongside the advanced one, and search results often blur them together. The "A" signals a different candidate profile and a different standard of evidence.
| Dimension | CTN-A (Advanced) | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Education | Master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field | Graduate preparation is part of the entry ticket |
| Practice evidence | 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration in the preceding five years | Roles beyond bedside care can qualify |
| Professional record | Three of five professional criteria must be satisfied | You document growth, innovation, research, contributions, or leadership |
| Exam emphasis | Judgment, program-level decisions, research, and professionalism alongside direct care | Questions skew toward analysis, not recall |
Prior basic certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite for the Advanced credential. For the full eligibility walkthrough, see CTN-A Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What the Exam Looks Like
- Length: 100 multiple-choice questions
- Time: up to two hours
- Passing score: 70%
- Not publicly disclosed: the scored versus unscored question split, and any aggregate pass rate
- Conditions: closed book, with no personal notes, books, or electronic devices; no scheduled breaks, and any unscheduled break consumes exam time
Because TCNCC does not publish pass-rate data, any specific percentage you see online should be treated with suspicion. Our piece on the CTN-A pass rate explains what can and cannot be known, and CTN-A Passing Score unpacks how the 70% threshold works in practice.
Delivery options
Testing is coordinated by TCNCC through approved university and professional testing sites, including the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC), or through an approved online proctored arrangement. The exam guide also references the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS). No specific remote-proctoring vendor has been verified, so confirm the exact arrangement with TCNCC when you apply rather than assuming a particular platform.
The Seven Weighted Domains
The exam blueprint divides content into seven official domains totaling 100%. These are the actual scoring categories, not editorial study themes. The weighting is lopsided in a way that should shape your preparation: two domains account for 60% of the exam.
Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
The heart of the exam. Expect scenarios requiring you to choose, adapt, or negotiate care when a patient's cultural framework collides with a standard plan.
- Culture care preservation, accommodation, and repatterning decisions
- Working with interpreters versus translators, and the cultural broker role
- Adapting teaching, communication, and care planning across language and health-literacy barriers
- Advocacy when systems or policies conflict with cultural needs
Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
Knowledge of how communities understand illness, wellness, and healing, and how to engage traditional or complementary practices safely.
- Folk, traditional, and faith-based healing systems
- Dietary, family, and life-cycle practices that affect care
- Recognizing when a practice is supportive, neutral, or a clinical risk
Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)
The conceptual base: theories, models, and terminology that frame everything else.
- Major transcultural nursing theories and models and when each applies
- Core concepts such as ethnocentrism, cultural humility, and cultural congruence
- Historical and social context of cultural care
Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)
Gathering culturally relevant data without stereotyping.
- Culturally focused assessment tools and frameworks
- Distinguishing individual preference from group generalization
- Assessing communication style, health beliefs, and social structure
Domains 5, 6, and 7: Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism (5% each)
Small individually, but together worth 15% of the exam.
- Evaluation of Care Outcomes: judging whether culturally tailored interventions actually worked
- Research: appraising and applying evidence, including research ethics with diverse populations
- Professionalism: leadership, mentoring, ethics, and advancing the specialty
A fuller breakdown lives in CTN-A Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
What "Advanced" Demands From Applicants
The Advanced Certification page lists the requirements below. Read them carefully, because several competitor sites misstate them.
- An active, unrestricted RN license or legally recognized international equivalent
- Master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with accreditation specified by the issuer (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent)
- Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment
- Either a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours
- 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years
- Evidence satisfying three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation
The application-form inconsistency
The current application form contains wording that does not match the Advanced requirements: it references diploma, associate, and BSN pathways and basic-level certification language, and its introduction says "all five" additional criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide both support graduate education and three of five criteria. If you hit conflicting language, contact TCNCC for clarification rather than assuming the lower bar applies.
Certification requires passing the examination plus retaining your eligibility evidence in case of a portfolio audit. The exam guide contains a historical description of an oral examination, but nothing in the current materials establishes a live oral assessment.
Fees, Testing Sites, and Deadlines
| Item | Amount or rule |
|---|---|
| Application/exam fee, TCNS member | $325 |
| Application/exam fee, nonmember | $450 |
| Testing-site or service charges | Applicant's responsibility; no fixed proctoring surcharge is published |
| Application timing | At least five weeks before your intended test date |
| Documented accommodation requests | Six weeks before the test date |
The member and nonmember fees are alternatives. You pay one or the other, never the sum, which is a mistake some third-party sites make. Remember to budget for whatever the testing site charges separately. A line-by-line cost analysis is in CTN-A Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling mechanics are covered in CTN-A Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
How Advanced Questions Reward Judgment
Because Domain 4 dominates the blueprint, expect questions in which more than one answer sounds respectful and only one is best. Here is an original illustration of the reasoning style.
Notice the pattern: wrong answers usually fail by being rigid in one direction, either imposing the institution's norm or deferring to a generalization about the culture. Correct answers keep the individual patient central while honoring cultural context. Questions touching Domain 5 ask how you would verify that an adapted intervention improved outcomes, and Domain 6 questions test whether a study design suits a particular community. For difficulty expectations, see How Hard Is the CTN-A Exam?
Five-Year Validity and Renewal
The credential is valid for five years. Renewal is handled through an application and documentary evidence or attestation, which is subject to audit. You must continue to maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria. That includes 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years and either three credits or 42 contact hours. No additional generic CEU quota is published, and the published route does not describe retaking the exam.
Renewal fees are $175 for TCNS members or $300 for nonmembers, again as alternatives. Keep your evidence organized from day one of the certification cycle. Note that the renewal guide carries a 2022 copyright, but its upload date is not a verified internal revision date.
Where the Credential Fits in a Career
CTN-A holders tend to work in roles where cultural expertise is a leadership or teaching function rather than only a bedside skill: nursing education, research, clinical leadership, diversity and inclusion work, patient-experience programs, community and public health, and consulting. Hiring organizations in those areas include academic institutions, health systems, and community health organizations.
On compensation, be cautious. The career pages reviewed use general RN or transcultural-nurse pay data, and no current CTN-A-specific salary estimate or proven earnings premium was verified. Treat any dollar figure attributed to the credential itself as unconfirmed. For a balanced treatment, read CTN-A Salary Guide: Complete Earnings Analysis, Is the CTN-A Certification Worth It?, and CTN-A Jobs.
Scheduling Study Time by Domain Weight
Rather than a generic plan, let the blueprint set your calendar. A sensible allocation front-loads the two heavy domains while keeping the small ones from being neglected. Our CTN-A Study Guide goes deeper; the outline below shows the logic.
Foundations and assessment (Domains 1 and 3)
- Learn the major models so later scenarios have a framework to anchor to
- Practice distinguishing assessment of individuals from generalizing about groups
Healing practices (Domain 2, 20%)
- Build a comparative reference of health beliefs and healing systems
- Note practices that carry clinical risk versus those safe to integrate
Culturally-Based Nursing Care (Domain 4, 40%)
- Work scenario questions daily, especially interpreter, broker, and advocacy situations
- Review every missed question for the principle, not just the answer
Outcomes, research, professionalism (Domains 5-7) and full review
- Cover evaluation methods, research ethics, and leadership responsibilities
- Take a timed 100-question run to rehearse the two-hour, no-break condition
A compact last-week reference is available in the CTN-A Cheat Sheet. When you are ready for timed scenario questions, use the CTN-A practice tests to rehearse the format.
Key Takeaway
The letters CTN-A point to a specific graduate-level credential with a specific blueprint. If you can name the certifying body, recite the 40% and 20% domain weights, and explain the evidence-based renewal route, you already understand the credential better than most search results describe it.
Frequently Asked Questions
It means Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, a graduate-level nursing credential governed by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission and administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society. See also What Does CTN-A Mean?
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours, with a passing score of 70%. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly disclosed.
No. The $325 member rate and the $450 nonmember rate are alternatives. Testing-site or service charges may be billed separately and are the applicant's responsibility.
The published renewal route does not specify a new exam. Certification is valid for five years, and renewal relies on an application with documentary evidence or attestation that is subject to audit, plus a $175 member or $300 nonmember fee.
The exam guide includes a historical oral-examination description, but current materials do not establish an oral assessment. Confirm directly with TCNCC when you apply if you want certainty.