- The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
- Why the Official Name Varies on Paper
- Who Issues the Credential
- What the Credential Signals to Employers
- Advanced vs. Basic: Where the Meaning Changes
- Who Qualifies to Use the Letters
- What the Exam Behind the Letters Tests
- Cost, Format, and Logistics
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Clearing Up Confusion With Other Credentials
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTN-A here means Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, issued by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) through the Transcultural...
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care is the heaviest domain at 40%; Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices adds 20%.
- Application and exam cost is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, plus any separate testing-service charge.
The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is a certification for registered nurses with graduate-level preparation who practice, teach, research, or lead in ways that center culture in health care. The letters "CTN" identify transcultural nursing; the "A" marks the advanced tier, which is distinct from the basic-level credential offered by the same organization.
If you are looking for a quick definition, that is it. But the meaning of the credential goes deeper than the expansion of the acronym, because the word "advanced" carries specific eligibility, examination, and evidence requirements. This article unpacks what the name signals, who earns it, and what sits behind the letters. For related phrasing of the same question, see our pages on what CTN-A stands for and the CTN-A meaning.
Why the Official Name Varies on Paper
You may notice slight differences in how the credential is written. The official exam guide uses "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced" on its cover and "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced" in its designation section. Search results, job postings, and résumés add further variation, such as "Advanced CTN" or "CTN-Advanced."
These all point to the same credential. For your résumé or signature line, follow the designation wording in the current official guide rather than copying whatever a job board or directory uses. Consistency matters because credential verification is based on the issuing body's designation, not on informal shorthand.
Who Issues the Credential
The governing body is the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), which operates through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). TCNS is the professional society devoted to advancing culturally competent, culturally congruent nursing care worldwide. The certification is therefore tied to a specialty community with its own scholarship, models, and terminology rather than to a general nursing board.
The primary source documents are TCNCC's CTN-Advanced Exam Guide and the Advanced Certification page on the TCNS website. A point worth knowing: the guide states its content was last revised in January 2022, while its embedded content outline carries a 1/2011 date and its reference list a 2010 revision. In practical terms, that means the blueprint you study from is dated, and you should treat the official guide, not third-party summaries, as the authority.
What the Credential Signals to Employers
When a nurse lists CTN-A, the letters communicate three things at once:
- Graduate-level preparation. Eligibility requires master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field.
- Substantial recent experience. Applicants must document 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration in the preceding five years.
- Demonstrated professional contribution. Applicants must satisfy three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.
That mix makes the credential most relevant in roles where culture is a design question, not just a bedside courtesy: academic faculty, nurse educators, researchers, administrators building language-access and equity programs, and consultants. Those are the settings to look at on our CTN-A jobs page. A candid note on pay: reviewed career pages describe general RN or transcultural-nurse pay, and no CTN-A-specific salary figure or proven earnings premium has been verified. Our CTN-A salary guide and the ROI analysis separate general RN compensation from the value of the credential itself.
Advanced vs. Basic: Where the Meaning Changes
The "A" matters. TCNS offers a basic-level transcultural certification (CTN-B) and the advanced one. The advanced credential is built around graduate education, five-year practice evidence, and a portfolio of professional contributions. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite for the advanced credential.
| Feature | CTN-A (Advanced) |
|---|---|
| Issuer | TCNCC, administered through TCNS |
| Education | Master's, post-master's, or doctoral degree in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field |
| Practice evidence | 2,400 hours in the preceding five years (clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration) |
| Cultural education | At least a three-credit course OR 42 continuing-education contact hours |
| Professional criteria | Three of five |
| Exam | 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, 70% passing |
| Validity | Five years |
For a side-by-side look at how the tiers differ in expectations, our CTN-A requirements guide goes through each eligibility element in detail.
Who Qualifies to Use the Letters
Using "CTN-A" after your name means you applied, were found eligible, and passed the examination. Eligibility has several parts, and common misreadings are worth correcting:
- Licensure: an active, unrestricted RN license or a legally recognized international equivalent.
- Education: graduate-level study, with accreditation specified by the issuer (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
- Employment: current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
- Cultural coursework: a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours. It is one or the other, not both.
- Practice hours: 2,400 hours within the preceding five years. This is a count of hours inside a five-year window, not a requirement of five full years in one role.
- Professional criteria: evidence that satisfies three of the five criteria listed above. Supporting letters are examples of evidence rather than a fixed required number of references.
Applicants retain their eligibility evidence because it may be subject to a possible portfolio audit. The exam guide also describes an oral examination historically, but that description does not establish a current oral assessment. Some third-party pages assert one; treat those claims with caution.
What the Exam Behind the Letters Tests
The examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, with a 70% passing score. The seven official weighted domains total 100%, and they are exam domains, not editorial study topics. The weighting tells you where the credential's meaning is concentrated: the practice of culturally based care.
Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
The largest slice of the exam and the heart of what "transcultural nursing" means in practice.
- Planning and delivering care that is culturally congruent rather than merely culturally aware
- Working with interpreters and translators and understanding cultural brokering
- Adapting care decisions in light of cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways
Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
The second-heaviest domain, covering how different cultures understand health, illness, caring, and healing.
- Folk, traditional, and professional care systems
- How healing practices interact with biomedical treatment
Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)
Theory, models, and concepts that underpin the specialty. Expect questions that ask you to apply a framework to a scenario.
Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)
Cultural assessment tools and the skill of gathering and interpreting culturally relevant data without stereotyping.
Domains 5, 6, and 7 (5% each)
Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism. Each is small, but together they account for 15% of the exam, which is enough to swing a borderline result.
For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, read our complete guide to all seven content areas. If you want to know how demanding the test is in practice, see how hard the CTN-A exam is. Note that the scored/unscored split and the aggregate pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so any specific pass-rate number you see elsewhere should be viewed skeptically; our pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
Cost, Format, and Logistics
The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not additive fees. Separately, the applicant is responsible for any testing-site or testing-service charge, and no fixed proctoring surcharge is published. A full breakdown lives in our CTN-A certification cost guide.
- Delivery: TCNCC-coordinated computer testing at approved university or professional testing sites, including the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC), or an approved online proctored arrangement.
- Test conditions: closed book, with no personal notes, books, or electronic devices. There are no scheduled breaks, and unscheduled breaks consume examination time.
- Timing: apply at least five weeks before your intended test date; documented accommodation requests require six weeks.
- Passing score: 70%. See the passing score article for how to interpret it.
Scheduling details are covered on our exam dates page. For hands-on preparation, pair the CTN-A study guide with scenario-based practice questions at the main practice test site.
Keeping the Credential Active
The certification is valid for five years. Renewal is an application plus documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit. You must maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and continue to meet the published requirements: 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years, three credits OR 42 contact hours of cultural-care education, and three of five professional criteria. No additional generic CEU quota is published.
Renewal fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam, which distinguishes it from the initial certification.
Key Takeaway
Start a running evidence file the day you pass. Because renewal evidence and any audit draw on the same five-year window of practice hours, coursework, and professional contributions, documenting as you go is far easier than reconstructing it later.
Clearing Up Confusion With Other Credentials
"CTN-A" turns up in other fields with entirely different meanings, so searching the abbreviation alone can land you on unrelated certifications with their own bodies, costs, and exams. To stay on track:
- Confirm the issuer is TCNCC and the society is TCNS.
- Cross-check any fee, date, or eligibility claim against the official exam guide and Advanced Certification page.
- Be cautious with third-party pages. Reviews of competing career pages found material errors in eligibility, fees, and exam format, including adding the two alternative fees together, requiring both three credits and 42 contact hours, and implying a current oral exam.
For more wording variants of this same question, see What Is CTN-A?, What Does CTN-A Mean?, and What Is CTN-A Certification?. For the credential as a whole, our CTN-A certification overview is the best starting point.
Frequently Asked Questions
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is issued by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS) and is intended for graduate-prepared registered nurses.
No. The advanced credential has its own eligibility rules, centered on graduate education, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, and three of five professional criteria. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours. The passing score is 70%. The scored/unscored split is not publicly disclosed.
The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternatives, not combined. Testing-site or testing-service charges may be billed separately and are the applicant's responsibility.
It is valid for five years. Renewal involves an application and documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit, with fees of $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam.