CTN-A logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CTN-A Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The TCNCC guide describes coordinated testing arranged around your application, not a published fixed national exam calendar.
  • Apply at least five weeks before your intended test date; documented accommodation requests require six weeks.
  • The fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, plus any separate testing-service charge.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, with a 70% passing score.

Why There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar

Candidates searching for "CTN-A exam dates 2026" usually expect a table of quarterly testing windows, like those published for many nursing specialty exams. For Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, issued by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC) through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS), that expectation does not match what the official materials describe. The CTN-Advanced Exam Guide and the Advanced Certification page frame the process around your application and a test date you plan with a testing site. They do not publish a nationwide list of fixed 2026 sittings.

This guide therefore does not list specific calendar dates. Any third-party page that does should be treated with suspicion until you confirm it directly with TCNS. What the official documents do give you is a set of lead times, delivery options, and conditions. Those are what you plan around.

Verify before you plan: The exam guide linked from the Advanced Certification page states that its content was last revised in January 2022, and its embedded content outline is marked 1/2011. The March 2026 upload path of the PDF does not establish a 2026 blueprint revision. Before committing to a date, check the current TCNS Advanced Certification page for any scheduling changes.

The Application-to-Test Timeline

Two published lead times drive every scheduling decision:

  • Five weeks: apply at least five weeks before your intended test date.
  • Six weeks: if you need documented testing accommodations, the request requires six weeks.

Treat these as minimums, not targets. Your application is not just a form. It carries the eligibility evidence described below, and gathering transcripts, course documentation, and practice-hour records often takes longer than candidates expect. A realistic plan starts the evidence-gathering step well before the five-week clock begins.

Scheduling StepPublished Lead TimeWhat It Means for You
Standard applicationAt least 5 weeks before intended test dateSubmit the application, evidence, and fee well ahead of your target week
Accommodation request6 weeks before test dateDocument the need early; do not wait for application review to finish
Testing-site or proctoring arrangementCoordinated through TCNCCConfirm site availability and any separate service charge
Study windowYour choicePlan backward from the date, not forward from the application

Because the exam is not tied to a single national sitting, a sound approach is to choose your target date first, subtract six weeks for a buffer that covers both standard and accommodation timelines, and treat that as your application deadline.

Where and How You Will Actually Test

The exam guide and the current application describe two delivery routes:

  1. Computer testing at approved university or professional testing sites, coordinated by TCNCC. The guide references the National College Testing Association's Consortium of College Testing Centers (NCTA/CCTC) and also uses the name National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS).
  2. An approved online proctored arrangement.

The application confirms both options. It also makes the applicant responsible for testing-site or service charges. No named remote-proctoring vendor was verified, and the guide does not identify a Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric contract. If you see a site claiming otherwise, confirm with TCNS before relying on it.

For scheduling, this matters in practical ways. A university testing center operates on its own calendar, which can include limited summer hours, academic-break closures, and appointment backlogs near semester ends. An approved online proctored arrangement offers more flexibility in theory, but you still need approval, and your home setup must satisfy the proctoring rules. Compare the two routes early. The delivery choice can move your realistic test date by weeks.

Key Takeaway

Contact a candidate testing center and ask about appointment availability before you finalize your application date. Site capacity, not an official exam calendar, is often the real constraint on when you can sit for the exam. For broader context on exam format and difficulty, see How Hard Is the CTN-A Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Confirm Eligibility Before You Pick a Date

Scheduling a test date only makes sense once you know you qualify. The Advanced pathway is aimed at graduate-prepared nurses, and the eligibility evidence is part of what you submit. Per the Advanced Certification page, you need:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
  • Qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with issuer-specified accreditation (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
  • Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
  • At least a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course, or 42 continuing-education contact hours. These are alternatives.
  • 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years.
  • Evidence satisfying three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.

Several competitor pages misstate these. The 2,400 hours must fall within the preceding five years; it is not a requirement of five full years of practice. The three-credit course and the 42 contact hours are an either-or, not both. Supporting letters appear as examples of evidence rather than a universally required fixed number. Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. For the full breakdown, see CTN-A Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

A known inconsistency in the application: The current Advanced application form includes diploma, associate, and BSN wording and references CTN-B, and its introduction says "all five" additional criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and exam guide support graduate education and three of five criteria. If the form wording confuses you, contact TCNS before submitting, because an unclear submission can slow your timeline.

Certification requires passing the examination, and you should retain your eligibility evidence in case of a possible portfolio audit. The exam guide's historical description of an oral examination does not establish a current oral assessment, so do not build a scheduling plan around one.

Fees and Their Effect on Scheduling

Fees are a timing issue because you pay with the application, and the application drives your test date. The published figures:

ItemTCNS MemberNonmember
Application/exam fee$325$450
Testing-service or site chargeSeparate, set by the site or service; no fixed proctoring surcharge is published
Renewal fee (five-year cycle)$175$300

The member and nonmember rates are alternatives, not additive. You pay one or the other. If you are not yet a TCNS member, compare the membership cost against the fee difference before applying, since joining first may lower your total. For the complete cost picture, read CTN-A Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Choosing a Date: Work Backward From the Blueprint

Because you control the test date, the most valuable scheduling decision is how long you give yourself to prepare. The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in up to two hours, and the seven official domains carry very different weights. Your study calendar should reflect that, which is the one place where general scheduling logic meets CTN-A specifics.

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

The single largest block of the exam, and the one to schedule the most calendar time for.

  • Cultural brokering, negotiation, and accommodation versus repatterning decisions
  • Working with interpreters and translators appropriately
  • Applying transcultural care models to complex clinical scenarios

Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

The second-largest domain. Questions test knowledge of diverse health beliefs, caring practices, and healing traditions and how they intersect with biomedical care.

Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)

Theory, concepts, and frameworks underpin everything else, so this domain deserves early study even at 15%.

The remaining domains are Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%), Evaluation of Care Outcomes (5%), Research (5%), and Professionalism (5%). Together the seven total 100%. A full walkthrough is in CTN-A Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

A sensible sequencing, mapped to your chosen date, looks like this:

Early weeks

Foundations and Assessment

  • Domain 1 theories and models, so later scenario questions make sense
  • Domain 3 assessment tools and cultural data gathering
Middle weeks

The Heavy Domains

  • Domain 4 (40%): repeated scenario practice on brokering and interpreter use
  • Domain 2 (20%): healing practices across cultural groups
Final weeks

Small Domains and Full Practice

  • Domains 5, 6, and 7, small in weight but easy points if reviewed
  • Timed 100-question sets to build two-hour pacing

Do not let the small domains slip entirely. Research, evaluation of outcomes, and professionalism together account for 15% of the exam. For a fuller preparation framework, see CTN-A Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Exam-Day Conditions That Affect Planning

Several published conditions should shape how you choose your date and time slot:

  • Closed book. No personal notes, books, or electronic devices.
  • No scheduled breaks. Unscheduled breaks consume examination time, so plan your morning (hydration, timing) accordingly.
  • Two-hour ceiling. With 100 questions, you have roughly a minute and a bit per item, which rewards a steady pace.
  • Passing score of 70%. The scored/unscored split and aggregate pass rate are not publicly disclosed.

A separate calculator permission and any adaptive-testing policy were not verified, so do not assume either. Because there are no scheduled breaks, choose a time of day when you are consistently sharp, and avoid scheduling the exam right after a night shift or a heavy teaching day. More on scoring is in CTN-A Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and the limits of public pass-rate data are covered in CTN-A Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Practice under real conditions: Run at least a few full timed sets with no notes and no breaks. Familiarity with the format reduces the surprise factor on test day, and you can start now with the CTN-A practice test.

After You Pass: The Five-Year Clock

Certification is valid for five years, so your exam date also sets your renewal date. Mark it. Renewal runs through an application with documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, subject to audit, and requires maintaining qualifying licensure, education, and employment. The published renewal requirements include the 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years, three credits or 42 contact hours of cultural-care education, and the three-of-five professional criteria. No additional generic CEU quota is published, and the published route does not specify a new exam.

The practical advice: from the day you pass, keep a running log of practice hours, cultural-care education, and professional-criteria evidence. Recreating five years of documentation under audit pressure is far harder than saving it as you go. Renewal fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers. The sources are the Advanced Re-Certification page and the CTN-A Re-Certification guide (copyright 2022); the January 2022 upload path is not a separately verified internal revision date.

If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, Is the CTN-A Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the CTN-A Salary Guide 2026 separate general RN pay from anything attributable to the credential. No CTN-A-specific salary premium has been verified, so be skeptical of pages that promise one. For a quick-reference summary of these facts, keep the CTN-A Cheat Sheet 2026 handy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CTN-A exam dates in 2026?

The official TCNCC materials do not publish a fixed national calendar of 2026 sittings. Testing is coordinated through approved university or professional testing sites or an approved online proctored arrangement, scheduled around your application. Confirm current details with TCNS.

How far ahead should I apply?

Apply at least five weeks before your intended test date. If you need documented accommodations, the request requires six weeks. Because eligibility evidence takes time to assemble, start gathering documents earlier still.

Can I take the CTN-A exam online?

The guide and current application describe an approved online proctored arrangement as one delivery option, alongside computer testing at approved sites. No specific remote-proctoring vendor was verified, so confirm the process and any service charges with TCNS.

How much does it cost to sit for the exam?

The application/exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not added together. Testing-site or service charges are separate and set by the site or service.

How long does the certification last, and does renewal require a new exam?

Certification is valid for five years. The published renewal route is an application with documentary evidence, subject to audit, and does not specify a new exam. Renewal fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers.

Ready to pass your CTN-A exam?

Put this into practice with free CTN-A questions across every exam domain.