- The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
- Why You Will See Slightly Different Names
- Who Stands Behind the Credential
- The "A" Versus the "B"
- What the Credential Signals About a Nurse
- What the Exam Covers: Seven Weighted Domains
- Who Can Actually Hold It
- Fees, Format, and Test Conditions
- How Long It Lasts and How It Is Renewed
- Misreadings of the Acronym to Avoid
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, a credential awarded through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC).
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
- Culturally-Based Nursing Care is the heaviest domain at 40%, followed by Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices at 20%.
- Advanced eligibility requires graduate-level education, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, and evidence meeting three of five professional...
The Short Answer: What the Letters Spell Out
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. The "CTN" portion marks a nurse certified in transcultural nursing, the specialty concerned with delivering care that is grounded in a patient's culture, beliefs, values, and health practices. The trailing "A" marks the advanced tier of that certification, which is designed for nurses with graduate-level preparation and a documented record of professional contribution, not simply bedside experience.
That is the whole expansion, but the letters carry more meaning than most acronyms. If you want a deeper treatment of the credential itself, our companion pages on what CTN-A is and CTN-A meaning cover it from different angles. This article focuses on the name: what each piece signals, how the official documents word it, and what a candidate should know before pursuing it.
Why You Will See Slightly Different Names
If you read the official materials closely, you will notice the credential is not worded identically everywhere. The TCNCC's CTN-Advanced Exam Guide uses Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced on its cover, while the designation section of the same guide uses Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced. Both refer to the same advanced credential. On this site and in most search results, the form Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced (CTN-A) is the standard shorthand.
Searching the bare acronym "CTN-A" can also return unrelated credentials from other fields that happen to share the same letters. Everything on this site refers solely to the transcultural nursing credential. If a page mentions fees, exam dates, or pass rates for something that is not governed by the TCNCC, it is describing a different certification.
Who Stands Behind the Credential
The certifying authority is the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), which operates through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS). The TCNCC publishes the exam guide, sets the eligibility rules, and oversees certification and renewal. The TCNS is the professional society whose member pricing applies to the application fee.
The current official guide states that its content was last revised in January 2022. Inside that guide, the content outline is marked 1/2011 and the reference list shows a 2010 revision. A newer file path on the TCNS website does not by itself establish that the exam blueprint was revised recently. For candidates, the practical consequence is that the reference base includes older sources, so you should study the published domains and references rather than assuming the content tracks the latest trend pieces. Our guide to all seven CTN-A content areas walks through that blueprint in detail.
The "A" Versus the "B"
The "A" is easiest to understand by contrast. TCNS offers a basic-level certification (commonly referred to as CTN-B) and the advanced-level certification discussed here. The letter signals the level of preparation expected, not a different subject area.
| Feature | CTN-A (Advanced) |
|---|---|
| Education expectation | Master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with specified accreditation |
| Practice evidence | 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration in the preceding five years |
| Professional evidence | Three of five professional criteria |
| Exam format | 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, 70% to pass |
| Validity | Five years |
One point deserves emphasis: prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite for the Advanced credential. A nurse who meets the graduate education, practice-hour, and professional-criteria requirements is evaluated on those requirements. Some third-party career pages blur the two tiers, and the application form itself contains some wording that references diploma, associate, or BSN preparation and CTN-B. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide, however, support graduate education as the standard for CTN-A. If you are weighing the two tiers, start with the Advanced requirements rather than the form's looser language.
What the Credential Signals About a Nurse
Read as a name, "Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced" tells an employer or colleague three things at once: the nurse has been examined on transcultural care knowledge, holds graduate-level preparation, and has documented contributions beyond routine practice. The three-of-five professional criteria are what make that third claim credible. Candidates must show evidence in at least three of these categories:
- Professional growth
- Creative and innovative practice
- Research
- Substantive or unique contributions
- Leadership in teaching, research, or consultation
Supporting letters can serve as examples of such evidence, but the requirement is not a fixed number of references. The Advanced pathway tends to suit nurse educators, advanced practice nurses, researchers, administrators, and consultants who shape how organizations deliver culturally congruent care. For a closer look at where credential holders work, see our page on CTN-A jobs.
What the Exam Covers: Seven Weighted Domains
The name "Transcultural Nursing" is reflected directly in the exam blueprint. The seven headings below are official weighted examination domains, and they total 100%. They are not editorial study topics.
Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)
The largest domain by far, and the one where the credential's name becomes applied practice.
- Planning and delivering care that fits a patient's cultural context
- Working with interpreters and translators, and understanding cultural brokering
- Preserving, accommodating, and repatterning care as a framework for culturally congruent decisions
Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)
Second heaviest. Expect scenarios involving traditional healers, folk and religious practices, dietary and family-role considerations, and how these interact with biomedical treatment.
Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)
Theory and concepts underlying the specialty, including the models that frame culturally congruent care.
Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)
Cultural assessment tools and how to gather and interpret culture-specific information without stereotyping.
Domains 5, 6, and 7 (5% each)
Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism. Each is small, but together they account for 15% of the exam, which is enough to separate a pass from a near miss.
Because Domains 4 and 2 together make up 60% of the exam, they deserve the largest share of preparation time. Our CTN-A study guide shows how to sequence that work, and the practice test hub lets you drill scenario-style items against each domain.
Who Can Actually Hold It
The name implies advancement, and the eligibility rules enforce it. Per the Advanced Certification page, an applicant needs:
- An active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
- Qualifying master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with CCNE/NLNAC accreditation in the U.S. or a legally recognized international equivalent.
- Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
- Either a three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course or 42 continuing-education contact hours. These are alternatives; you do not need both.
- 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years.
- Evidence satisfying three of the five professional criteria listed above.
Two common errors appear on third-party sites: requiring both the course and the contact hours, and treating "five years of experience" as a substitute for the 2,400-hour requirement within the preceding five years. The hours must fall within that window. The eligibility evidence you assemble should be retained, because it may be requested in a portfolio audit. The exam guide's historical description of an oral examination does not establish a current oral assessment, so do not plan around one. For the full checklist, see CTN-A requirements.
Fees, Format, and Test Conditions
Understanding the credential's name also means understanding what it costs and how it is tested. The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not additive, and a testing-service fee may be charged separately because the applicant is responsible for testing-site or service charges. No fixed proctoring surcharge is published. Our CTN-A certification cost breakdown tallies the realistic total.
| Item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time | Up to two hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Delivery | Computer testing at approved university or professional sites (including NCTA/CCTC), or an approved online proctored arrangement |
| Breaks | None scheduled; unscheduled breaks consume exam time |
| Materials | Closed book; no personal notes, books, or electronic devices |
| Application timing | At least five weeks before the intended test date; six weeks for documented accommodation requests |
The scored/unscored split and the aggregate pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so any specific pass-rate figure you encounter should be treated skeptically. Our page on the CTN-A pass rate explains what can and cannot be said, and CTN-A passing score covers how the 70% threshold works. For scheduling considerations, see CTN-A exam dates. If you are wondering how demanding the test is, how hard the CTN-A exam is offers a candid assessment.
How Long It Lasts and How It Is Renewed
The credential is valid for five years. Renewal runs through an application plus documentary eligibility evidence or attestation, and it is subject to audit. Candidates must maintain qualifying licensure, education, and employment, and meet the published recent-practice, cultural-care education, and three-of-five professional criteria. The published requirements include 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years and either three credits or 42 contact hours; no additional generic CEU quota is published.
Renewal fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers, again as alternatives. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam. That distinguishes it from the initial certification, which requires passing the 100-question test. Keep your documentation organized from the day you earn the credential, since an audit can request it years later.
Misreadings of the Acronym to Avoid
- Assuming "A" means "Associate" or "Applied." It means Advanced.
- Assuming any nurse with cultural-competence training holds CTN-A. Completing a diversity course satisfies one eligibility element; it is not the credential.
- Importing facts from other credentials with the same letters. Fees, dates, and domain weights for unrelated certifications do not apply here.
- Treating the application form's looser wording as the standard. The Advanced page and exam guide support graduate education and three of five criteria.
- Expecting a published salary premium. None has been verified for this specific credential.
For quick reference, our CTN-A cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts onto a single page, and the related explainers what does CTN-A mean and CTN-A certification cover adjacent questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is an advanced-level certification in transcultural nursing awarded through the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), administered through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS).
Both appear in the official guide. The cover uses Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced, while the designation section uses Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced. They refer to the same credential.
Prior CTN-B certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite. Eligibility rests on an active RN license, graduate-level education, current employment, a cultural-diversity course or 42 contact hours, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, and three of five professional criteria.
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in up to two hours, and the passing score is 70%. The aggregate pass rate and the scored versus unscored split are not publicly disclosed.
Certification is valid for five years. Renewal requires an application with documentary eligibility evidence, subject to audit, at $175 for TCNS members or $300 for nonmembers. The published renewal route does not specify a new exam.