CTN-A logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CTN-A Certification?

TL;DR
  • CTN-A is Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced, issued by the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission through the Transcultural Nursing Society.
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, up to two hours, and a 70% passing score.
  • Culturally-Based Nursing Care carries 40% of the exam; healing practices adds another 20%.
  • Application costs $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers, plus any testing-service charges.

What the Credential Is and Who Issues It

CTN-A stands for Certified Transcultural Nursing - Advanced. It is a graduate-level credential for registered nurses who practice, teach, research, or lead in ways that apply transcultural nursing theory to real care situations. The certifying authority is the Transcultural Nursing Certification Commission (TCNCC), which operates through the Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS).

The wording varies slightly across official documents. The exam guide's cover uses "Certified Transcultural Nurse - Advanced," while its designation section uses "Certified Transcultural Nursing-Advanced." Both refer to the same credential. If you want a shorter orientation to the terminology, see What Does CTN-A Stand For? and CTN-A Meaning.

What separates this credential from a generic cultural-competence course is its assessment of judgment. The exam is not a vocabulary test about holidays and dietary customs. It asks whether an advanced practitioner can assess cultural information, choose culturally congruent interventions, evaluate outcomes, and defend decisions with research and professional standards.

A note on source dates: The TCNCC exam guide states that its content was last revised in January 2022, and its embedded content outline carries a 2011 marker with a 2010 reference list. A recent upload date on the TCNS website does not by itself prove the blueprint was revised in 2026. Plan your preparation around the published seven-domain outline, and check the TCNS Advanced Certification page before you apply.

Who Qualifies: Eligibility in Plain Terms

The Advanced Certification page sets a demanding bar. You need all of the following:

  • An active, unrestricted RN license, or a legally recognized international equivalent.
  • Master's, post-master's, or doctoral education in nursing, education, philosophy, or a related field, with the accreditation the issuer specifies (CCNE or NLNAC in the U.S., or a legally recognized international equivalent).
  • Current full-time or part-time nursing employment or self-employment.
  • Either at least one three-credit cultural-diversity or cultural-competence course, or 42 continuing-education contact hours. These are alternatives, not a combined requirement.
  • 2,400 hours of relevant clinical practice, teaching, research, or administration during the preceding five years.
  • Evidence that satisfies three of five professional criteria: professional growth, creative and innovative practice, research, substantive or unique contributions, and leadership in teaching, research, or consultation.

Two details trip up candidates. First, the 2,400 hours are measured within the preceding five years; they are not a substitute for "five full years of experience." Second, supporting letters can serve as evidence for the professional criteria, but there is no universal fixed number of references. Prior Basic (CTN-B) certification is not listed as a universal prerequisite.

A known inconsistency: The current online application form includes wording that references diploma, associate, and BSN education and CTN-B, and its introduction says "all five" additional criteria while its questionnaire says three of five. The Advanced Certification page and the exam guide support graduate education and three of five criteria. Treat the form wording as an unresolved inconsistency rather than a reason to assume lower requirements, and confirm directly with TCNS if your situation is borderline. For a fuller walk-through, read CTN-A Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

What the Exam Looks Like

The examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with up to two hours allowed. The passing score is 70%. TCNCC does not publicly disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, and no aggregate pass rate has been published, so be skeptical of any site that quotes a specific pass percentage. Our analysis in CTN-A Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said honestly, and CTN-A Passing Score 2026 covers the 70% threshold in more detail.

Exam FeatureWhat Is Published
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
Time allowedUp to two hours
Passing score70%
Reference materialsClosed book; no personal notes, books, or electronic devices
BreaksNone scheduled; unscheduled breaks consume exam time
DeliveryTCNCC-coordinated computer testing at approved university or professional sites, or an approved online proctored arrangement
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Because there are no scheduled breaks and the clock keeps running, pacing matters. Roughly 72 seconds per question is the arithmetic average, but case-based items will take longer than definitional ones. Practicing under timed conditions is more valuable here than rereading notes. A calculator policy and any adaptive-testing policy were not verified in the published materials, so do not assume either.

If you are weighing whether the exam is a realistic goal for you, How Hard Is the CTN-A Exam? breaks down where candidates typically struggle.

The Seven Weighted Domains

The exam blueprint has seven official domains totaling 100%. These are the actual scored content areas, not editorial study topics. The two heaviest domains account for 60% of the exam, so they deserve most of your attention. A deeper treatment lives in CTN-A Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

This is the core of the exam. Expect scenarios in which you must select the most culturally congruent intervention for a patient, family, or population.

  • Cultural care preservation, accommodation, and repatterning decisions
  • Working with interpreters and translators, and understanding the difference between the two roles
  • Cultural brokering and advocacy when patient preferences collide with institutional routines
  • Adapting care plans, communication style, and patient education to cultural context

Domain 2: Culturally-Based Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

This domain tests knowledge of how different cultural groups understand health, illness, caring, and healing.

  • Traditional and folk healing systems and how they interact with biomedical treatment
  • Beliefs about illness causation, prevention, and the role of family and community
  • Caring expressions that vary across cultures
  • Recognizing when a practice is helpful, neutral, or potentially harmful, and responding without dismissing the patient's worldview

Domain 1: Foundations for Transcultural Care Nursing Practice (15%)

The theoretical backbone: concepts, models, and the history of the specialty.

  • Core transcultural nursing theory and the models used to organize cultural care
  • Key concepts such as culture, ethnocentrism, cultural imposition, and cultural congruence
  • How worldview, social structure, and environment shape health

Domain 3: Assessment of Cultural Information Relevant to Health Care (10%)

Gathering and interpreting cultural data without stereotyping.

  • Cultural assessment tools and when each is appropriate
  • Distinguishing individual preference from group generalization
  • Assessing communication needs, health literacy, and decision-making patterns

Domains 5, 6, and 7: Evaluation of Care Outcomes, Research, and Professionalism (5% each)

Small individually, but together 15% of the exam.

  • Evaluation of Care Outcomes: judging whether culturally tailored care achieved its goals
  • Research: ethical and methodological considerations when studying culturally diverse groups
  • Professionalism: standards, advocacy, mentorship, and the advanced practitioner's role

Key Takeaway

Do not ignore the 5% domains. At 100 questions, each one still represents roughly five items, and a candidate who skips them can lose enough points to miss a 70% cut score. Give them focused, short review sessions rather than none.

Fees, Registration, and Testing Logistics

The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not additive; you pay one or the other. On top of that, the applicant is responsible for any testing-site or testing-service charges, and no fixed proctoring surcharge is published. That means your total out-of-pocket cost depends on where and how you test.

Testing is coordinated by TCNCC through approved university and professional testing sites, including the Consortium of College Testing Centers run under the National College Testing Association (NCTA/CCTC), or through an approved online proctored arrangement. The exam guide also references the National Collegiate Testing Service (NCTS). No named remote-proctoring vendor, and no Pearson VUE, PSI, or Prometric contract, was verified, so do not assume your experience will mirror those platforms.

Plan your timeline carefully:

  • Apply at least five weeks before your intended test date.
  • If you need documented accommodations, allow six weeks.

For a line-by-line breakdown, see CTN-A Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for scheduling specifics use CTN-A Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Advanced Versus Basic Certification

TCNS offers two tiers: Basic (CTN-B) and Advanced (CTN-A). Candidates and even some career websites blur them together, and several third-party pages misstate Advanced requirements. The practical distinction is the level of education, the scope of practice, and the type of evidence required.

DimensionCTN-A (Advanced)What to Verify for CTN-B
EducationMaster's, post-master's, or doctoral level in nursing or a related fieldConfirm current Basic requirements directly with TCNS
Practice evidence2,400 hours in the preceding five yearsConfirm with TCNS
Professional criteriaThree of five (growth, innovation, research, contributions, leadership)Confirm with TCNS
OrientationAdvanced practice, teaching, research, administrationDirect clinical application

If you are deciding between tiers, start with your education and your role. A clinician without a graduate degree should look at Basic; an educator, researcher, or advanced-practice leader with the required degree is the intended CTN-A candidate. The pages What Is CTN-A? and What Is A CTN-A? offer additional framing.

Audit Evidence and Five-Year Renewal

Certification requires passing the examination and keeping eligibility evidence on file in case of a portfolio audit. Treat your documentation as a living file: transcripts, license verification, employment records, evidence of hours, and materials supporting your three-of-five criteria. The exam guide's description of a historical oral examination does not establish a current oral assessment, so do not prepare for one on the strength of older text.

The credential is valid for five years. Renewal is handled through an application with documentary evidence or attestation, subject to audit. You must continue to meet the published requirements: qualifying licensure, education, and employment; 2,400 practice hours during the preceding five years; three credits or 42 contact hours of cultural-care education; and the three-of-five professional criteria. No additional generic CEU quota is published, and the published renewal route does not specify a new exam.

Renewal fees are $175 for TCNS members or $300 for nonmembers. Starting your evidence file at certification, rather than in year five, makes renewal far less stressful.

Career Value and Where It Fits

CTN-A is most relevant for nurses in academia, research, administration, community and public health leadership, consulting, and advanced clinical roles in diverse patient populations. Employers who serve multilingual, immigrant, refugee, or historically underserved communities tend to value demonstrated transcultural expertise, as do universities building cultural-care curricula.

On compensation, be cautious. The career pages reviewed for this article report general registered nurse or transcultural-nurse pay, not earnings specific to CTN-A holders, and no causal salary premium from the credential has been verified. Your return is more likely to come through role eligibility, credibility, and leadership opportunities than from a guaranteed raise. The honest framing is in CTN-A Salary Guide 2026 and Is the CTN-A Certification Worth It?, and you can browse role types in CTN-A Jobs.

Separate pay from payoff: A graduate-prepared nurse's salary reflects the degree, setting, and region. The certification may help you qualify for or stand out in certain roles, but no source reviewed here supports a specific dollar premium.

How Advanced Questions Reward Reasoning

Advanced items favor judgment over recall. Consider a scenario in the style of Domain 4: a postpartum patient's family asks that the new mother avoid showering and cold fluids for a set period after birth, while the unit routine encourages early ambulation and hygiene. The strongest answer is rarely "enforce the routine" or "defer entirely." It is usually to explore the meaning of the practice, identify which elements are safe to preserve, negotiate modifications where there is a clinical concern, and document the shared plan. That maps to the preserve, accommodate, and repattern logic that sits at the center of the largest domain.

A Domain 3 style item might ask which action best avoids stereotyping during assessment. The reasoning point is that group knowledge is a starting hypothesis, and the individual patient confirms or corrects it. A Domain 6 item might focus on whether a research design respects community norms about consent. A Domain 7 item might ask how an advanced practitioner should respond when a colleague dismisses a patient's healing practice.

In every case, eliminate answers that impose the clinician's culture, ignore patient safety, or rely on assumptions about a group. The remaining options usually differ in how well they combine respect with evidence-based practice. For reasoning-heavy practice, our CTN-A practice tests are built around scenario items of this kind.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight

Because the exam is closed book and heavily weighted toward two domains, a sensible plan front-loads the big areas and revisits them repeatedly. One illustrative structure for a six-week run-up (adjust to your own calendar):

Weeks 1-2

Domain 4: Culturally-Based Nursing Care (40%)

  • Master preservation, accommodation, and repatterning with scenario practice
  • Review interpreter, translator, and brokering roles
Week 3

Domain 2: Health, Caring, and Healing Practices (20%)

  • Build comparative knowledge of healing systems and caring expressions
Week 4

Domains 1 and 3: Foundations and Assessment (25% combined)

  • Models, concepts, and assessment tools
Week 5

Domains 5, 6, and 7 (15% combined)

  • Outcome evaluation, research ethics, professionalism
Week 6

Timed mixed practice

  • Full 100-question sets in two-hour windows, then review misses by domain

For resources and a fuller approach, see CTN-A Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the one-page CTN-A Cheat Sheet 2026. If you are comparing formal options, CTN-A Training outlines what to look for. You can also begin working questions now on the main practice test site.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CTN-A certification prove?

It shows that a graduate-prepared registered nurse has met TCNCC's eligibility standards and passed an examination covering transcultural nursing theory, healing practices, cultural assessment, culturally-based care, outcome evaluation, research, and professionalism.

How much does the exam cost?

The application and exam fee is $325 for TCNS members or $450 for nonmembers. These are alternative rates, not combined. You are also responsible for any testing-site or testing-service charges, which are not fixed.

Can I take the exam online?

TCNCC's materials describe both approved testing sites and an approved online proctored arrangement. The exam is closed book with no personal notes or electronic devices, and there are no scheduled breaks.

What score do I need to pass?

The passing score is 70% on a 100-question multiple-choice exam with up to two hours allowed. TCNCC does not publicly disclose the scored versus unscored split or an overall pass rate.

How long does certification last, and what does renewal require?

Certification is valid for five years. Renewal involves an application with documentary evidence or attestation, subject to audit, covering licensure, education, employment, 2,400 practice hours in the preceding five years, three credits or 42 contact hours, and three of five professional criteria. Fees are $175 for members or $300 for nonmembers, and no new exam is specified.

For a concise overview you can share with colleagues or a supervisor, point them to What Is CTN-A Certification? and the broader CTN-A Certification hub.

Ready to pass your CTN-A exam?

Put this into practice with free CTN-A questions across every exam domain.